Lake Union: Amazon

11 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Lost Girls of Devon

A woman’s strange disappearance brings together four strong women who struggle with their relationships, despite their need for one another. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen will appreciate the emphasis on nature and these women’s unique gifts in this latest by the author of When We Believed in Mermaids.
PREMIUM

Side Trip

Fans of conventional contemporary romances may be put off by the meandering and melodramatic way that the hero and heroine finally get their happily ever after. However, readers of romantic dramas à la Nicholas Sparks will likely be more tolerant of the story’s contortions.
PREMIUM

The Lending Library

This debut novel shows some promise and should appeal to librarians and book lovers everywhere. Read-alikes include Karen Hawkins’s The Book Charmer and Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner.

This Won’t End Well

A touching story that is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette and the humor of Jennifer Weiner’s novels, this book is for those who understand the difficulties of tackling life, work, and love as a millennial.
PREMIUM

Above the Bay of Angels

This delightful mystery neatly blends historical details of late Victorian life, from rich foods to royalty, into a story spiced with humor and romance. Bowen’s depiction of Bella as a modern Victorian woman, skillfully navigating class differences while struggling with the choice between a safe life and her ambitions, rings true.
PREMIUM

Beside Herself

This book begins quickly with an intriguing premise that slows down significantly partway through. LaBan gives voice to the conflicting thoughts and emotions spouses experience following infidelity, but some of the characters feel underdeveloped as the plot takes off.
PREMIUM

This Is Not How It Ends

Weinstein’s (Somebody’s Daughter; What We Leave Behind) story alternates between the present and two years earlier as Charlotte and Philip first meet. With hints that all is not well with Philip from the beginning, the reader is never really rooting for them to stay together. However, the journey to the inevitable ending still manages to take some fascinating turns along the way.
PREMIUM

Drowning with Others

This captivating page-turner will have readers wondering till the end what motivates people to do what they do.

PREMIUM

A Transcontinental Affair

Marred by stereotypes, including a derogatory term for a Native American woman, as well as improbable plotlines, Daynard’s (A More Perfect Union) novel may have limited appeal for die-hard fans of historical romances set in the frontier West.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month