Lake Union: Amazon

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

This Won’t End Well

A touching story that is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette and the humor of Jennifer Weiner’s novels, this book is for those who understand the difficulties of tackling life, work, and love as a millennial.
PREMIUM

Above the Bay of Angels

This delightful mystery neatly blends historical details of late Victorian life, from rich foods to royalty, into a story spiced with humor and romance. Bowen’s depiction of Bella as a modern Victorian woman, skillfully navigating class differences while struggling with the choice between a safe life and her ambitions, rings true.
PREMIUM

Beside Herself

This book begins quickly with an intriguing premise that slows down significantly partway through. LaBan gives voice to the conflicting thoughts and emotions spouses experience following infidelity, but some of the characters feel underdeveloped as the plot takes off.
PREMIUM

This Is Not How It Ends

Weinstein’s (Somebody’s Daughter; What We Leave Behind) story alternates between the present and two years earlier as Charlotte and Philip first meet. With hints that all is not well with Philip from the beginning, the reader is never really rooting for them to stay together. However, the journey to the inevitable ending still manages to take some fascinating turns along the way.
PREMIUM

Drowning with Others

This captivating page-turner will have readers wondering till the end what motivates people to do what they do.

PREMIUM

A Transcontinental Affair

Marred by stereotypes, including a derogatory term for a Native American woman, as well as improbable plotlines, Daynard’s (A More Perfect Union) novel may have limited appeal for die-hard fans of historical romances set in the frontier West.
PREMIUM

Relative Fortunes

While the pace of this debut is slow at times, Benn has created a delightful sleuth, and readers will look forward to more mysteries starring this Jazz Age heroine. Recommend to readers of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher and all those seeking a period-rich mystery.
PREMIUM

Relative Fortunes

While the pace of this debut is slow at times, Benn has created a delightful sleuth, and readers will look forward to more mysteries starring this Jazz Age heroine. Recommend to readers of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher and all those seeking a period-rich mystery.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month