Houghton Harcourt

41 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Martha Stewart’s Organizing: The Manual for Bringing Order to Your Life, Home & Routines

Readers on a budget or establishing a household will find inspiration and customizable ideas here. Those seeking a philosophical discussion about downsizing or decluttering as they undertake organizing should also look to Margareta Magnusson’s The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning or Joshua Becker’s The Minimalist Home.
PREMIUM

The Multi-Cooker Baby Food Cookbook: 100 Easy Recipes for Your Slow Cooker, Pressure Cooker, or Multi-Cooker

This handy resource offers many ideas and strategies for making your own baby food.
PREMIUM

Now You See Them

The fifth in Griffiths’s “Magic Men” series (The Vanishing Box) is written with a lighter touch and quirkier characters than her “Ruth Galloway” archaeological mysteries. Nevertheless, it’s a highly entertaining read with a spot-on portrayal of the manners and mores of the 1960s. [See Prepub Alert, 3/25/19.]

Tiny Habits: The Small Changes That Change Everything

Fogg’s method has great potential to promote altered behavior in those who have sought help in other ventures with little success.

Rebel Cinderella: Rose Pastor Stokes: Sweatshop Immigrant, Aristocrat’s Wife, Socialist Crusader

Lucidly written and painstakingly researched, this is a joy to read, cementing Pastor in her rightful place with other progressive figures of the time.
PREMIUM

The Winter Army: The World War II Odyssey of the 10th Mountain Division, America’s Elite Alpine Warriors

This work will appeal to World War II buffs and fans of nonfiction adventure or sports.
PREMIUM

The Best American Essays 2019

A worthwhile series installment that should not only interest contemporary readers but also hold a place in the historical record.
PREMIUM

Virginia Woolf: And the Women Who Shaped Her World

Despite the occasionally gossipy tone and casual language that detracts from the work’s overall scholarly perspective, this volume will be welcomed by readers and students curious about the cultural aspects of Woolf’s development as a writer.

All This Could Be Yours

Contemporary family sagas don’t get much better than this novel, which should appeal to fans of Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections or Jennifer Egan’s Manhattan Beach. [See Prepub Alert, 3/25/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month