Hanover Square:

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Films of Endearment: A Mother, a Son and the ’80s Films That Defined Us

A skilled film critic, Koresky guides readers through salient plot points instead of rehashing entire films, but his real talent is using cinema as a starting point for conversation. This intimate, probing work will appeal to hard-core cinephiles, lovers of memoirs, and many other readers.
PREMIUM

D (A Tale of Two Worlds)

Faber (The Crimson Petal and the White), an award-winning writer of short stories, fiction, and nonfiction, has created a thoroughly engaging young adult crossover fantasy that occasionally breaks the fourth wall by speaking directly to the reader midstory. Clever and enjoyable, this Narnia-like work will delight any fantasy buff.
PREMIUM

Set My Heart to Five

Stephenson’s (Let Not the Waves of the Sea) novel will appeal to fans of Philip K. Dick or Isaac Asimov. Through frequent allusions to movies and novels, the story is also made accessible to almost anyone who enjoys romance, intrigue, or outsider tales.

Made Men: The Story of Goodfellas

A must for any fan of Goodfellas, Scorsese, or movies in general. [See “Turn the Page,” p. 18.]
PREMIUM

The Bright Lands

Fram refers to himself as “Stephen Queen,” and while this should certainly be embraced as a “gay Stephen King” read-alike, it is also a confident and thought-provoking tale that explores complex family dynamics, sexuality, religion, and coming-of-age anxieties within a solid horror frame. A great choice for fans of Victor LaValle or Ania Ahlborn.
PREMIUM

Under Pressure: Living Life and Avoiding Death on a Nuclear Submarine

For the vast majority of people who will never experience life in a submarine, Humphreys’s work delivers an engaging glimpse into what they’re missing out on

MS-13: The Making of America’s Most Notorious Gang

An outstanding book for true crime readers.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?