Grove

17 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Harpy

This is a taut horror story wrapped inside a domestic drama of two people at war with each other. A scarily satisfying read. [See Prepub Alert, 2/4/20.]

Vesper Flights

Macdonald’s unique voice is highly recommended for fans of her first book and science enthusiasts who enjoy natural history with a British flavor.

PREMIUM

The Black Cabinet: The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt

A dramatic piece of nonfiction that recovers the history of a generation of leaders that helped create the environment for the civil rights battles in decades that followed Roosevelt’s death.
PREMIUM

Private Means

LeFavour, author of the memoir Lights On, Rats Out, is an award-winning cookbook writer, but don’t expect a foodie novel. Fans of Taffy Brodesser-Akner’s Fleishman Is in Trouble or Ann Beattie’s short stories will enjoy this wry, sophisticated, and intelligent rendering of modern, privileged city life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lost Pianos of Siberia

Tigers, pianos, prisoners, and historical perspective throughout Siberia’s past and present are the heart of this personal account that starts and ends with the search for a piano. While the pianos and their providence are captivating, the history and people stand out.
PREMIUM

First, Catch: Study of a Spring Meal

Eagle enjoys thinking about food in all its ephemerality and here succeeds in sharing that experience. A solid pick for fans of food writers Nigel Slater, John Thorne, or Laurie Colwin.
PREMIUM

The Shapeless Unease: A Year of Not Sleeping

Recommended for those curious about the creative process and the devastating effects of sleep deprivation. [See Prepub Alert, 11/25/19.]

Writers & Lovers

While never minimizing the seriousness of Casey’s personal problems, the book is also funny and romantic and hard to put down, full of well-observed details of restaurant culture and writer’s workshops. It’s hard to imagine a reader who wouldn’t root for Casey. [See Prepub Alert, 9/9/19.].
PREMIUM

Second Sister

Chan’s appealing style will hold readers’ interest, especially those who enjoy their suspense set in international locales.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month