Grand Central

56 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Glorious Guinness Girls

This book’s title is mildly misleading, since the novel focuses less on the Guinness sisters and more on Fliss and the political turmoil raging outside the privileged walls of wealth and class. The tragedy that haunts them is palpable, but the story is unfortunately bogged down by too many characters and shallow society parties, and by Fliss’s overplayed guilt complex. After a promising start, the story quickly loses steam, eventually ending on a flat note.
PREMIUM

Seven Days in June

With funny, snappy writing and a strong eye for detail, Williams (The Perfect Find) builds a compelling, glamorous Black literary world for the protagonists to inhabit. The book balances a second-chance romance with themes of motherhood, childhood trauma, and life with chronic pain.
PREMIUM

The Siren

St. John’s (The Lion’s Den) latest will please fans of Hollywood tales full of broken dreams and runaway egos more than traditional thriller readers. Hand it to devotees of quintessential beach reads and those looking to escape into the darker and steamier side of all things Tinseltown.
PREMIUM

Breakout

The combination of vengeance quest and disaster epic make for a compelling and adrenaline-filled thriller. TV and game writer Herron’s debut stands apart with its strong characterization and assured pacing, though at times the violence does skew toward the gratuitous.
PREMIUM

The Dancing Girls

This novel is not only a police procedural, but a psychological study of a serial killer. However, the many continuous chapters focused on the killer and the victims disrupt the flow of the investigative plot. Readers will be pleased with a clever twist at the end. Future books in the series would benefit from more focus on the character development of Jo and her team.

Better, Not Bitter: Living on Purpose in the Pursuit of Racial Justice

An important memoir and call to action that sheds light on the personal injustices of mass incarceration.

PREMIUM

Brat: An ’80s Story

Students of acting will appreciate learning about McCarthy’s versions of method acting and his struggles with performing for a camera. Fans of ’80s cinema will love the chance to reminisce.

Press Reset

This standout book will appeal to readers of Kotaku, Polygon, and IGN, as well as viewers of NoClip’s YouTube documentaries. Beyond gamers, this well-researched account will also interest labor advocates.
PREMIUM

A Dog’s Hope

This title will certainly appeal to fans of W. Bruce Cameron’s dog books, but especially to his young adult fans. As Toby matures through his late teens, Buddy remains wholly doggish throughout their journey together.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?