Ecco:

25 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Winter Counts

Weiden’s series launch sheds much-needed light on the legal and societal barriers facing Native Americans while also delivering a suspenseful thriller that builds to a bloody climax. A worthy addition to the burgeoning canon of indigenous literature. [See Prepub Alert, 1/29/20.]

These Women

Pochoda (Wonder Valley) stuns with this disquieting literary thriller rife with descriptive street language and violence. It is complex, intense, and enthralling. Fans of Rachel Kushner’s The Mars Room will experience a similar sense of feeling both captivated and bereft. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/19.]
PREMIUM

Exciting Times

Overall, this surprising novel is believable and piercingly written, with many hilarious lines, such as when Ava wonders if a nasty English character is “a real person or three Mitford sisters in a long coat.” For fans of Rachel Khong’s Goodbye, Vitamin. [See Prepub Alert, 12/2/19.]
PREMIUM

Summer Snow: New Poems

Overall, this collection of elegies has a pleasing, conversational tone (despite the morbidity of its subject), as if Hass is reading nature not to glean a message but to hear and see what nature has to say. For all libraries.
PREMIUM

The Hispanic Republican: The Shaping of an American Political Identity, from Nixon to Trump

An evenhanded and thought-provoking study of Hispanic conservatism.

Memorial Drive: A Daughter’s Memoir

A moving, heartbreaking memoir about a traumatic event and the path to healing.
PREMIUM

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars

A poetic meditation on psychological trauma and a complex and nuanced portrait of a grieving family.
PREMIUM

Separation Anxiety

Readers who enjoyed Maria Semple’s far superior Where’d You Go, Bernadette or Linda Holmes’s Evvie Drake Starts Over may enjoy this, but it is not Zigman’s best effort. She is a popular writer, though, so buy for demand only. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]

The Coyotes of Carthage

This is an archly comic and ultimately chilling political novel on the effects of the dark money unleashed by the Supreme Court’s Citizens United decision on the American political soul as well as on the souls of individuals. Thoughtful, sharp-edged fare for the upcoming election year. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month