Del Rey:

18 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Book of Accidents

Wendig blends horror, fantasy, and small-town family drama in an ambitious epic that spans both a multitude of worlds and the interior expanse of the human heart. This one’s essential.

Velvet Was the Night

Fans of Moreno-Garcia’s other novels will relish this title, as will noir aficionados and readers who like stories about everymen and -women rising to the occasion.
PREMIUM

Rabbits

Rabbits is a story for readers who don’t think the stakes in Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One were nearly high enough. And for those who think The Matrix didn’t have nearly enough conspiracy theories or coincidences. It’s recommended for readers who like their SF on the techno-thriller side, and their endings somewhat equivocal. And for anyone who believed that the TV series Lost was a bit too straightforward after all.
PREMIUM

Malice

Walter’s debut weaves together fairy-tale tropes into an exciting, twisted tale of friendship, love, and legacy.

A Deadly Education

This latest from Novik (“Temeraire” series) launches a new series that should appeal to aficionados of fantastical fiction as well as to those who have felt they never quite fit in and don’t understand why. The magic and mystery of this chillingly lovely novel will appeal to both YA and adult fans of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books. [See Prepub Alert, 3/18/20.]
PREMIUM

Ink & Sigil: From the World of the Iron Druid Chronicles

Delightful! Hearne’s (“Seven Kennings” series) use of Scottish words and spellings (detailed in the foreword) never becomes distracting, but instead adds to the story’s singular flavor. The author includes plenty of shout-outs for fans of the “Iron Druid” series, while introducing an intelligible tale sure to draw in new readers. Great for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, or Anton Strout.
PREMIUM

The Somebody People

Starting with the first book of this duology (The Nobody People) is strongly recommended. Proehl’s use of alternating viewpoints and the occasional flashback help propel the story. However, for its length, it lacks meaningful character development. Should appeal to readers of Marissa Meyer’s “Renegades” series or those who enjoy dystopian X-Men stories.
PREMIUM

Malorie

Having read Bird Box will help, but essential worldbuilding is seamlessly interwoven in a narrative paired with enlightening flashbacks into Malorie’s childhood, making this a solid stand-alone. Malerman will no doubt add to his legions of fans with this title ripe for readers of any genre seeking an intensely thrilling ride.

The Space Between Worlds

This exciting debut is intelligently built, with clever characters, surprise twists, plenty of action, subtly detailed worlds, and a plot that highlights social and racial inequities in astute prose.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?