Crooked Lane

14 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace

Because of the change in setting, most of the characters from the previous book do not appear. Felicity retains her feisty spirit and wit and once again has to battle for acceptance and credibility in a male-dominated society. Readers will look forward to her next adventure.
PREMIUM

Murder at the Opera

This third “Atlas Catesby” mystery (following Murder in Bloomsbury) ties up several story lines. Fans of the series will welcome the latest developments, while readers of novels set in Regency England will relish the atmosphere of the period and well-developed characters.
PREMIUM

Bound for Murder

As with Cleo Coyle’s “Coffeehouse” mysteries, Gilbert’s library mysteries (Past Due for Murder) are darker than many cozies. The well-developed characters and complex issues will appeal to fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James.
PREMIUM

Fatal Roots

The story is repetitive and drawn out, and not much happens to move it along. Only fans of Connolly’s previous books, such as The Lost Traveller, will be interested enough to finish it.
PREMIUM

Storm of Secrets

Marion’s strong second installment in this series (after House of Ashes) will draw in readers with a penchant for mysteries with a supernatural twist and great characters cast in a fascinating setting.
PREMIUM

Sorry for the Dead

A challenging murder mystery, a look at the social pressures on those who were nonconformists, and a strong sense of place combine to make this a fascinating read. Fans of historical British mystery series and Tey’s books will find much to enjoy.

PREMIUM

The Books of the Dead

Bernhard’s second series mystery (after Death in Paris) is another charming amateur investigator tale. For readers for Bernhard’s previous novel and fans of Mary Kay Andrews or Laura Childs.

PREMIUM

Tracking Game

This is a compelling and twisty mystery in a well-described location. Fans of Western mysteries as well as those featuring dogs will enjoy this latest entry in the series.

Ice Cold Heart

The tenth Monkeewrench novel is as intense and fast paced as its predecessor, The Guilty Dead, and includes the best elements for crime fiction readers: an intricate plot weaving multiple story lines. Though the backstory is disturbing, fans of the compelling series will appreciate the focus on Roadrunner and a glimpse of his past.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month