Crooked Lane

18 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Booked for Death

Gilbert (“Blue Ridge Library” mysteries) introduces an intelligent, mature amateur sleuth, and a shrewd elderly sidekick in the first in a character-driven cozy series. The leisurely paced mystery offers complex characters with well-developed backgrounds and motives. Readers of Ellery Adams’s “Book Retreat” mysteries will appreciate this new series.
PREMIUM

The Secrets They Left Behind

While the conclusion is unnecessarily protracted, Redmond (A Cold Day in Hell), herself a retired cold-case homicide detective from Buffalo, demonstrates her experience and delivers a well-crafted, pulsating mystery with a sobering twist. Fans of small-town mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

A Spell for Trouble

As an amateur sleuth, Alex is awkward and too pushy for a newcomer in town. However, flaws in her character may be overlooked because of the unique background of Polish history and magic. Fans of Ellery Adams’s mysteries will want to try this one.
PREMIUM

The Body in the Garden

Fans of historical mysteries and intelligent, strong women sleuths such as Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily, Darcie Wilde’s Rosalind Thorne, or Andrea Penrose’s Charlotte Sloane will want to add this series opener to their TBR pile.
PREMIUM

Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace

Because of the change in setting, most of the characters from the previous book do not appear. Felicity retains her feisty spirit and wit and once again has to battle for acceptance and credibility in a male-dominated society. Readers will look forward to her next adventure.
PREMIUM

Murder at the Opera

This third “Atlas Catesby” mystery (following Murder in Bloomsbury) ties up several story lines. Fans of the series will welcome the latest developments, while readers of novels set in Regency England will relish the atmosphere of the period and well-developed characters.
PREMIUM

Bound for Murder

As with Cleo Coyle’s “Coffeehouse” mysteries, Gilbert’s library mysteries (Past Due for Murder) are darker than many cozies. The well-developed characters and complex issues will appeal to fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James.
PREMIUM

Fatal Roots

The story is repetitive and drawn out, and not much happens to move it along. Only fans of Connolly’s previous books, such as The Lost Traveller, will be interested enough to finish it.
PREMIUM

Storm of Secrets

Marion’s strong second installment in this series (after House of Ashes) will draw in readers with a penchant for mysteries with a supernatural twist and great characters cast in a fascinating setting.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month