Counterpoint

28 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Natural Mother of the Child: A Memoir of Nonbinary Parenthood

A wholly unique memoir that will speak to readers navigating nonbinary parenthood, as well as those who seek to understand the limitations of the U.S. legal system when it comes to nonbinary and trans parenthood.
PREMIUM

Out of the Shadows: Six Visionary Victorian Women in Search of a Public Voice

Brisk and entertaining, this biography should draw the attention of readers interested in the social effects of the Spiritualist movement, or in 19th-century women’s history.
PREMIUM

Lost in Summerland: Essays

This wide-ranging work is part literary collection, part cultural examination; it should appeal to armchair travelers interested in learning about different worldviews and finding meaning in the everyday.
PREMIUM

Secrets of Happiness

Silber’s fans, and readers who enjoy smart, humane contemporary fiction that doesn’t talk down to them, will enjoy this work.

Blow Your House Down: A Story of Family, Feminism, and Treason

Uncompromisingly fearless in its candor, this memoir / feminist manifesto is a powerful account of a woman’s self-acceptance that deserves a place among the best literary memoirs of the last decade. Frangello’s groundbreaking testimony sets itself apart.

You’re Leaving When? Adventures in Downward Mobility

The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and unbeknown-to-her wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Sloane Crosely alike.
PREMIUM

Earth’s Wild Music: Celebrating and Defending the Songs of the Natural World

Fans of Moore will appreciate this collection. For others, it’s an optional purchase.
PREMIUM

The Night Lake: A Young Priest Maps the Topography of Grief

A stunning introspective memoir recommended for general readers, especially those dealing with grief.
PREMIUM

The Center of Everything

In this exquisitely nuanced, beautifully constructed novel, Harrison (“Jules Clement” mystery series) draws the reader into young Polly’s filtered understanding of her world, rich with happily married couples, vs. the uncertain reality of the adult Polly, coping with memory loss while slowly untangling shocking family secrets. A magnificent gem.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?