Counterpoint

31 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Tale of Two Omars: A Memoir of Family, Revolution, and Coming Out During the Arab Spring

Though a bit dramatic at times, this book will be of interest to LGBTQ readers, celebrity watchers, and memoirs about coming into one’s own.
PREMIUM

Our Biggest Experiment: An Epic History of the Climate Crisis

If readers seek just one book to explain how the world arrived at the current climate crisis, this one would be a great suggestion. Bell’s accessible writing will find a wide audience.

Generation Occupy: Reawakening American Democracy

 Levitin's use of "occupy" as the first word of each chapter implies a stronger relationship than he demonstrates. The result is primarily a celebration of protests instead of a useful discussion of their origins and effects.

PREMIUM

The Natural Mother of the Child: A Memoir of Nonbinary Parenthood

A wholly unique memoir that will speak to readers navigating nonbinary parenthood, as well as those who seek to understand the limitations of the U.S. legal system when it comes to nonbinary and trans parenthood.
PREMIUM

Out of the Shadows: Six Visionary Victorian Women in Search of a Public Voice

Brisk and entertaining, this biography should draw the attention of readers interested in the social effects of the Spiritualist movement, or in 19th-century women’s history.
PREMIUM

Lost in Summerland: Essays

This wide-ranging work is part literary collection, part cultural examination; it should appeal to armchair travelers interested in learning about different worldviews and finding meaning in the everyday.
PREMIUM

Secrets of Happiness

Silber’s fans, and readers who enjoy smart, humane contemporary fiction that doesn’t talk down to them, will enjoy this work.

Blow Your House Down: A Story of Family, Feminism, and Treason

Uncompromisingly fearless in its candor, this memoir / feminist manifesto is a powerful account of a woman’s self-acceptance that deserves a place among the best literary memoirs of the last decade. Frangello’s groundbreaking testimony sets itself apart.

You’re Leaving When? Adventures in Downward Mobility

The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and unbeknown-to-her wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Sloane Crosely alike.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?