Counterpoint

23 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

You’re Leaving When? Adventures in Downward Mobility

The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and unbeknown-to-her wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Sloane Crosely alike.
PREMIUM

Earth’s Wild Music: Celebrating and Defending the Songs of the Natural World

Fans of Moore will appreciate this collection. For others, it’s an optional purchase.
PREMIUM

The Night Lake: A Young Priest Maps the Topography of Grief

A stunning introspective memoir recommended for general readers, especially those dealing with grief.
PREMIUM

The Center of Everything

In this exquisitely nuanced, beautifully constructed novel, Harrison (“Jules Clement” mystery series) draws the reader into young Polly’s filtered understanding of her world, rich with happily married couples, vs. the uncertain reality of the adult Polly, coping with memory loss while slowly untangling shocking family secrets. A magnificent gem.
PREMIUM

The National Road: Dispatches from a Changing America

Empathetic, candid, and curious, Zoellner has built an eclectic, eloquent guide to the social and physical landscapes of America.

PREMIUM

Evening

Somber but hopeful, this work reveals truths about family dynamics, which are always messier and more complicated than unquestioned family lore.
PREMIUM

This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America

The commitment, tenacity, and empathy of the users, activists, and advocates Shuler meets is a stark corrective to the disdain and dehumanization typical of policy and practice in this area. The title forcefully claims this story for Ohio, a statistical center, but addiction reaches all places, and this book is strongly recommended for readers anywhere who are interested in systemic change and the power of the grassroots. [See Prepub Alert, 3/4/20.]

Zero Zone

After finishing this cinematic novel, some readers will be compelled to start again at page one to discover how O’Connor (A Perfect Universe) pieces together his suspenseful, incredibly well-written narrative and to contemplate the artworks described.

Looking for Miss America: A Pageant’s 100-Year Quest to Define Womanhood

This work offers a thought-provoking, balanced, and highly informative look at an institution that has perplexed and enticed Americans since its founding.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?