Atria

36 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Something That May Shock and Discredit You

Though it struggles to maintain cohesion at times, this account of a vulnerable life makes for contemplative reading. While fans of the Toast and pop culture will be drawn in, some may long for a more straightforward memoir.

PREMIUM

The Light After the War

Fans of Marta Hall Kelley and Kristin Hannah will delight in this powerful tale of strong female friendship and second-chance romance set in picturesque Naples, Venezuela, and Australia.
PREMIUM

The Woman of a Thousand Names

This novel by award-winning historical novelist Lapierre (Between Love and Honor) was first published in French in 2016. The story integrates verbatim quotes with imagined conversations and settings. Realistic yet fantastical in its account of the audacious Maria, this is a rewarding rediscovery of a memorable woman.
PREMIUM

Things in Jars

Fans of the macabre will be mesmerized by this horrific gothic tale, but some may be disturbed by the overt, grisly details.
PREMIUM

To Have and To Hoax

Debuter Waters is off to a promising start with a rare historical romantic comedy that is sure to delight fans of either genre. [Previewed in Eve Stano’s Romance Preview, “Love for All,” LJ 10/19.]
PREMIUM

The Chill

Based on the true history of a drowned town and inspired by recent articles about the state of New York City’s water tunnels, this novel provides an alluring mix of truth and ghost story which will draw interest and keep readers hooked. Read-alikes include Christopher Golden’s “Ben Walker” series and the novels of Jennifer McMahon, where humans clash against a monster from the past seeking revenge.

Olympic Pride, American Prejudice: The Untold Story of 18 African Americans Who Defied Jim Crow and Adolf Hitler To Compete in the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Even though the organization of the book could have been improved, overall it will appeal to readers interested in the history of the Olympics and World War II and might best serve as a companion piece to the documentary.
PREMIUM

Adequate Yearly Progress

This novel provides an entertaining and humane story of what it’s like to teach high school. Already a hit with teachers when it was self-published in 2018, it will appeal to anyone who enjoys humorous workplace narratives.
PREMIUM

In Five Years

The story has a strong New York setting and sympathetic characters. Emotional hooks alongside moments of humor and self-awareness will remind readers of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You or Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Maybe in Another Life. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month