Algonquin

24 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Beeswing: Losing My Way and Finding My Voice 1967–1975

Thompson’s spell is never broken, and, as on disc, his is a welcome voice to meet on the page. Readers will be eager for the next volume of the story. Like a great Richard Thompson solo, this title contains surprise, beauty, delight, and a voice like no other. His autobiography is as welcome as it is long overdue.
PREMIUM

Legends of the North Cascades

This modern back-to-the-land story feels like John Krakauer’s Into the Wild meets Jean M. Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear, a combination that makes for a compelling read in its appreciation of the monumental properties of nature and recognition of the history of humans in the North Cascades.
PREMIUM

Libertie

Greenidge’s second novel (after We Love You, Charlie Freeman) is a richly detailed and well-researched work of historical fiction. Centering her narrative on the lives of Black women, she explores issues of racism, colorism and misogyny in lyrical and lovely prose.
PREMIUM

Fans: How Watching Sports Makes Us Happier, Healthier, and More Understanding

While there have been other books written about fandom, this is a quick read that even casual fans of sports may enjoy.

Big Girl, Small Town

With echoes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine crossed with the 1990s-set British sitcom Derry Girls, this debut is recommended for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh, Emma Donoghue, and Sally Rooney.
PREMIUM

Paper Bullets: Two Artists Who Risked Their Lives to Defy the Nazis

This is a satisfying contribution to World War II scholarship, highlighting a sophisticated, cultured, and still grassroots resistance effort. Recommended for public libraries.

Down Along with That Devil’s Bones: A Reckoning with Monuments, Memory, and the Legacy of White Supremacy

O’Neill is a talented writer, and this powerful meditation on collective memory is necessary reading for knowing ourselves and our history.

PREMIUM

We Saw Scenery: The Early Diaries of Merrill Markoe

Markoe’s reflections and interrogation of her memories are hilarious and presented with a surrealistic flair in scenes depicting everything from an interview of a hippopotamus representing her own hippocampus to a commiserating of her modern and adolescent selves.

PREMIUM

Love, Zac: Small-Town Football and the Life and Death of an American Boy

A tragic, moving story that will linger with readers of sports and biographies in general.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?