Algonquin

28 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Case of the Murderous Dr. Cream: The Hunt for a Victorian Era Serial Killer

Jobb’s compelling account of Cream’s reign of terror will appeal to readers interested in Jack the Ripper or Peter Sutcliffe, the Yorkshire Ripper.
PREMIUM

Nowhere Girl: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood

Diamond’s memoir is compulsively readable; for fans of suspense novels or memoirs like Tyler Wetherall’s No Way Home.

Hot Stew

With tinges of Tom Jones, this is a seriously entertaining romp through one of London’s most historic districts, alongside a band of resilient have-nots who are determined to win out over an entitled heiress.
PREMIUM

Made in China: A Prisoner, an SOS Letter, and the Hidden Cost of America’s Cheap Goods

Spanning biography, business, and sociology, this well-reported and well-researched account of labor practices shows the impact of the demand for global goods. It will especially interest consumers and labor advocates.
PREMIUM

Legends of the North Cascades

This modern back-to-the-land story feels like John Krakauer’s Into the Wild meets Jean M. Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear, a combination that makes for a compelling read in its appreciation of the monumental properties of nature and recognition of the history of humans in the North Cascades.

Beeswing: Losing My Way and Finding My Voice 1967–1975

Thompson’s spell is never broken, and, as on disc, his is a welcome voice to meet on the page. Readers will be eager for the next volume of the story. Like a great Richard Thompson solo, this title contains surprise, beauty, delight, and a voice like no other. His autobiography is as welcome as it is long overdue.
PREMIUM

Libertie

Greenidge’s second novel (after We Love You, Charlie Freeman) is a richly detailed and well-researched work of historical fiction. Centering her narrative on the lives of Black women, she explores issues of racism, colorism and misogyny in lyrical and lovely prose.
PREMIUM

Fans: How Watching Sports Makes Us Happier, Healthier, and More Understanding

While there have been other books written about fandom, this is a quick read that even casual fans of sports may enjoy.

Big Girl, Small Town

With echoes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine crossed with the 1990s-set British sitcom Derry Girls, this debut is recommended for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh, Emma Donoghue, and Sally Rooney.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?