Ace:

15 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Dance with Fate

Marillier’s (“Blackthorn and Grim” series) latest novel in the “Warrior Bards” series (after The Harp of Kings), set in a fantasy world inspired by mythic Ireland, is a brisk and engaging read with vivid characters and a satisfying conclusion that makes this work as a standalone. Recommended for fans of Katharine Kerr’s “Deverry” books or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicles” series.

The Archive of the Forgotten

The sequel to The Library of the Forgotten will not disappoint as the prickly Claire, brash Hero, bubbly Brevity, and composed Rami build their story lines into solidity.

Battle Ground

The arc begun in Peace Talks comes to a deadly, destructive finish in the 17th “Dresden Files” book—and nothing will be the same again.
PREMIUM

Kill Orbit

This third in Dane’s “Cry Pilot” series (after Burn Cycle) still delivers pulse-pounding action and the satisfying adrenaline rush of a mission complete, but is best read alongside the previous books, which familiarize readers with the characters and the type of work they do.
PREMIUM

Spells for the Dead

The fifth entry in the “Soulwood” series (after Circle of the Moon) continues to build a modern paranormal world, filled with action, suspense, and amazing emotional arcs.
PREMIUM

The Year of the Witching

An exciting debut with the potential to appeal to a wide range of readers and fans of titles as varied as Jennie Melamed’s Gather the Daughters, Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, and Scott Hawkins’s The Library at Mount Char. It also joins a recent trend of witch-themed titles like the short story anthology Hex Life, edited by Christopher Golden and Rachel Autumn Deering.

Peace Talks

With many familiar faces returning and lots of magical action, this latest from Butcher (Princep’s Fury) will have fans rejoicing at the return of Chicago’s only professional wizard.
PREMIUM

Looking Glass

Fans of the previous books will adore seeing the characters again and having loose ends tied up. Readers new to the series, however, will be as lost as Alice.

Stealing Thunder

This delightful debut is rich with detailed worldbuilding, political intrigue, and South Asian cultural references drawn from Boyden’s experience as a trans activist who has traveled in India and Pakistan. Boyden handles the story with a steady hand, and this first novel will delight romantic fantasy enthusiasts.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month