Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Mar. 25, 2019 | Book Pulse

The Cornwalls Are Gone by James Patterson, with Brendan DuBois leads holds this week, with more big names also doing well. Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams is getting buzz. NYPL librarians pick books for the spring and Vanity Fair speculates on the possible Pulitzer winners. Largehearted boy offers some music for Monday, as selected by Bryan Washington.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week

The Cornwalls Are Gone by James Patterson, with Brendan DuBois (Little, Brown: Hachette) leads holds this week

Other tiles in demand include:

The Last Second by Catherine Coulter, J.T. Ellison (Gallery: S. & S.)

The American Agent: A Maisie Dobbs Novel by Jacqueline Winspear (Harper; LJ starred review)

Wild Card by Stuart Woods (G.P. Putnam's Sons: Penguin)

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

Three LibraryReads picks publish this week, including the March No.1 pick:

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing (Berkley: Penguin)

“An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica.” — Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX

It is also an Indie Next pick:

“It started out as a game, a series of hypothetical questions to liven up their marriage: Who could they hurt? And what could they get away with? With two kids and a mortgage, Millicent and her husband need all the excitement they can find. But soon conversation isn’t enough and their dream life turns into a nightmare. Because the thing about games is there’s always a winner…and a loser. Downing has written the perfect psychological thriller, a shattered scream of a book. Once I picked it up, I didn’t stop reading until I reached the final, stunning sentence. My Lovely Wife is a wholly original and thoroughly terrifying read!” —Lauren Peugh, Powell’s Books, Portland, OR

The Library of Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick (Park Row: Harper; LJ starred review)

“Martha Storm volunteers at the local library and has a tendency to help others over taking care of herself. One day she receives a mysterious book from the grandmother she believed dead and begins digging into her family’s past. Who doesn’t love a book about books? For fans of Elizabeth Berg and Fredrik Backman.” —Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Genesee, MI

Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss by Rajeev Balasubramanyam (The Dial Press: Random House)

"When Chandra fails to win the Nobel Prize in Economics, again, then suffers a heart attack, he decides to make changes in his life. A humorous journey of self-discovery similar to Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry." — Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

In the Media

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams (Gallery/Scout: S. & S.) leads Entertainment Weekly's book coverage this week. In a Trend Alert EW looks at books with titles based on their subject's names, including Stay Up with Hugo Best by Erin Somers (Scribner: S. & S.), The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman (Berkley: Penguin), Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes (Ballantine: Random House), and The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna by Juliet Grames (Ecco: Harper). Funny Man: Mel Brooks by Patrick McGilligan (Harper) and The Other Americans by Laila Lalami (Pantheon: Random House) get attention and Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland by Patrick Radden Keefe (Doubleday: Random House; LJ starred review) gets strong focus. The New Me by Halle Butler (Penguin) makes EW's "Must List" at No. 5 and Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations by Mira Jacob (One World: Random House; SLJ starred review) is No. 7. There is a feature on Veep, which has an associated book, A Woman First: First Woman: A Memoir by Selina Meyer (Abrams). In more TV coverage Shrill gets a B review. In the Music section there is a feature on The Dirt, based on The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band Tommy Lee, Vince Neil, Nikki Sixx, Mick Mars (Dey Street: Harper). The "New & Notable" chart is back this week; see the titles here.

People's "Book of the Week" is Look How Happy I'm Making You: Stories by Polly Rosenwaike (Doubleday: Random House). In "The Best New Books" section are Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams (Gallery/Scout: S. & S.) and My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing (Berkley: Penguin). The photo book pick is Betty Kuhner: The American Family Portrait by Kate Kuhner, Steven Stolman (Gibbs Smith). There is a feature on Esmé Weijun Wang, The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays (Graywolf: Macmillan). In the recipe section, closing out book coverage, there is a dish from Martha Stewart's Grilling: 125+ Recipes for Gatherings Large and Small by the Editors of Martha Stewart Living (Clarkson Potter) and a feature on Martina McBride, Martina's Kitchen Mix: My Recipe Playlist for Real Life (Oxmoor House). Finally, People puts Shrill on its "Picks" list.

Reviews

The NYT reviews Doing Justice: A Prosecutor's Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law by Preet Bharara, (Knopf): "Most chapters delight or provoke in some way." Also, Sounds Like Titanic: A Memoir by Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman (W.W. Norton): "a memoir of millennial economic ennui, a clever illustration of navigating impostor syndrome and the gig economy." Spies of No Country: Secret Lives at the Birth of Israel by Matti Friedman (Algonquin: Workman; LJ starred review): "[the] genesis story of Israeli intelligence."

NPR reviews Miranda in Milan by Katharine Duckett (Tor: Macmillan; LJ starred review): "intriguing, adept, inventive and sexy." Also, Giraffes on Horseback Salad: Salvador Dali, the Marx Brothers, and the Strangest Movie Never Made by Josh Frank, Tim Heidecker, Manuela Pertega (Quirk: Random House): "entertaining cultural history." Sing to It: New Stories by Amy Hempel (Scribner: S. & S.): "You can't rush great fiction, and that's exactly what Hempel delivers in her new collection, Sing to It. The fifteen stories in Hempel's new book showcase the author's immense talents, and prove that she's one of the most vital authors of short fiction writing today."

The Washington Post reviews Murder by the Book: The Crime That Shocked Dickens's London by Claire Harman (Knopf): "well-practiced at sifting through the lives of authors in the context of their times and finding relevance to our own." Also, Funny Man: Mel Brooks by Patrick McGilligan (Harper): "you feel like you were on a long car ride with Brooks’s gossipy, catty accountant." Spies of No Country: Secret Lives at the Birth of Israel by Matti Friedman (Algonquin: Workman; LJ starred review): "will either repel or attract you, depending on your political perspective." Doing Justice: A Prosecutor's Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law by Preet Bharara, (Knopf): "thoughtful, sincere, and not above a coy jab or a showman’s wisecrack."

Briefly Noted

USA Today picks its books of the week.

NYPL offers Spring 2019 Staff Picks

The shortlists for the 2019 British Book of the Year awards are out.

Vanity Fair speculates on the possible Pulitzer winners.

The NYT "Graphic Content" column is out. "The Shortlist" looks at novels that delve "Deep Inside the Writers’ Life."

The NYT offers "What to Read While You’re Waiting to Read the Mueller Report."

The Millions appreciates Lawrence Ferlinghetti.

The Washington Post features The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O'Meara (Hanover Square: Harper). The paper also showcases White Elephant by Julie Langsdorf (Ecco: Harper).

Paste spotlights A People's History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian (Algonquin: Workman).

The NYT celebrates Batman at age 80, picking highlights of his career.

Seymour Chwast draws some of his favorite characters for the NYT.

Marlon James talks food with Grub Street.

Largehearted boy has a playlist for Lot: Stories by Bryan Washington (Riverhead: Penguin).

The NYT considers the book scene in Miami.

Entertainment Weekly interviews Akilah Hughes, Obviously: Stories From My Timeline (Razorbill: Penguin).

The Washington Post interviews Maura Roosevelt, Baby of the Family (Dutton: Penguin).

The Guardian interviews Nina Stibbe, Reasons to Be Cheerful ( Little, Brown: Hachette). Also, the paper interviews Ali Smith, Spring (Pantheon: Random House).

Electric Lit interviews Mitchell Jackson, Survival Math: Notes on an All-American Family (Scribner: S. & S.; LJ starred review).

The L.A. Times interviews Namwali Serpell, The Old Drift (Hogarth: Random House; LJ starred review).

The NYT talks with the philosopher Bernard-Henri Lévy. Also, with David O. Dowling, A Delicate Aggression: Savagery and Survival in the Iowa Writers' Workshop (Yale).

Authors on Air

NPR interviews Damon Young, What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays (Ecco: Harper). Also getting interviewed, Laila Lalami, The Other Americans (Pantheon: Random House).

Deadline Hollywood reports that a Wattpad book series, Death Is My Best Friend by Katarina Tonks, is headed to the SYFY channel.

LeVar Burton reads Ken Liu.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.