Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Feb. 25, 2019 | Book Pulse

California Girls by Susan Mallery and Chocolate Cream Pie Murder by Joanne Fluke lead holds this week. The Oscars honor some bookish winners. Playboy has found an unpublished interview with Maya Angelou. Charles Dickens apparently wanted to lock up his wife in an asylum.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week

California Girls by Susan Mallery (MIRA: Harper) leads holds this week.

However, the always-in-demand writer has close compeition as the week begins. Chocolate Cream Pie Murder by Joanne Fluke (Kensington: Random House), is a tight second in terms of hold numbers.

Additional titles in high demand this week include:

The Huntress by Kate Quinn (William Morrow: Harper)

The Border by Don Winslow (William Morrow: Harper)

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

Three LibraryReads publish this week:

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos by Lucy Knisley (First Second: Macmillan)

“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing, and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding, and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.” — Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon (Bloomsbury: Macmillan)

“Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil…. this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik.”—Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL

It is also a March Indie Next selection:

“A fabulous, complex fantasy that will appeal to fans of Erika Johansen, Melissa Caruso, and George R.R. Martin, Priory has something for every fantasy lover. Narrated by various characters from different parts of a fantastically imagined world rife with conflict, both religious and political, Shannon’s story and its characters’ fates revolve around the most riveting aspect of the whole book: dragons! Shannon writes with a fast-paced, engrossing voice that continues to build with every chapter. I loved this world and think readers will wholeheartedly embrace it.” —Lauren Nopenz Fairley, Curious Iguana, Frederick, MD

The Huntress by Kate Quinn (William Morrow: Harper)

“This is a novel I can happily recommend to patrons who like historical fiction. It excels in both plotting and character development. Nina Markova, a bomber pilot stranded behind enemy lines, becomes the target of a Nazi assassin. For fans of Jackdaws by Ken Follett and Up In Honey’s Room by Elmore Leonard. — Maria Gruener, Watertown Regional Library, Watertown, SD

It is another Indie Next pick as well:

“A Russian night witch and a British war correspondent turned Nazi hunter join forces to track a ruthless assassin in The Huntress, the latest book by Kate Quinn. From the pre-war wilds of the Soviet Union to the streets of a war-torn Germany to the bustle of Boston, Quinn masterfully mixes the past with a post-war present, and it’s phenomenal. Fans of The Alice Network and The Nightingale will love this fantastically fast-paced and utterly exhilarating historical fiction.” —Kristin Bates, McLean & Eakin Booksellers, Petoskey, MI

These books and others publishing the week of Feb. 25, 2019, are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet.

In The Media

Entertainment Weekly leads book coverage with American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson (Random House) with a feature titled "Reinventing the spy novel." Leading Men by Christopher Castellani (Viking: Penguin) gets a B review. EW puts Killing Eve on its cover and has a feature story. The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray (Berkley: Penguin) makes the "Must List" at No. 3 and prompts a chart about literary families. How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is No. 6 (there is also a short feature on the animated charmer in the movie coverage section too). Also getting a feature is Marie Kondo, of book fame, but more recently, the Netflix hit Tidying Up with Marie Kondo. There is a "critical assessment of every major 2020 presidential candidate's memoir."

People's Book of the Week is The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray (Berkley: Penguin). In Best New Books are We Must Be Brave by Frances Liardet (G.P. Putnam's Sons: Penguin) and Leading Men by Christopher Castellani (Viking: Penguin). Under "New In Paperback" are I Wrote This Book Because I Love You: Essays by Tim Kreider (S. & S.), An American Marriage by Tayari Jones (Algonquin: Workman), and How It Happened by Michael Koryta (Back Bay Books: Hachette). In a feature on Queer Eye's Karamo Brown, the magazine spotlights Karamo: My Story of Embracing Purpose, Healing, and Hope (Gallery Books: S. & S.). How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World makes People's "Picks" list. In Streaming & DVD releases is Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Awards

The Oscars were awarded last night. Among the book-based winners, Regina King won best supporting actress for If Beale Street Could Talk. Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse won best animated feature. BlacKkKlansman netted Spike Lee honors for best adapted screenplay. Ruth E. Carter won for best costumes for her work on Black Panther. That film also earned trophies for best original score and production design, for Hannah Beachler. The wins for costumes and production design made history. First Man won for visual effects.

The Spirit Awards were also given out over the weekend. If Beale Street Could Talk took the most trophies reports Deadline Hollywood. The Wife also got a nod as did Can You Ever Forgive Me?

The 2019 Children's & Teen Choice Book Award finalists are announced.

Reviews

The NYT reviews Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland by Patrick Radden Keefe (Doubleday: Random House; LJ starred review): "Keefe is a terrific storyteller ... an excellent account of the Troubles; it might also be a warning." Sy Montgomery reviews Mama's Last Hug: Animal and Human Emotions by Frans de Waal (W.W. Norton), calling it "game-changing."

NPR reviews Chronin Volume 1: The Knife at Your Back by Alison Wilgus (Tor: Macmillan): "Let's hear it for cleverness! Sometimes a few modest, well-thought-out ideas can add up to an artistic creation as impactful as — and even more appealing than — the weightiest projects." Also, The White Book by Han Kang (Hogarth: Random House): exhibits "stunningly beautiful writing and [a] preoccupation with mortality ... It's a book that defies genre and challenges the reader to make sense of its unusual structure ... will reward readers with a taste for more unconventional narratives."

Briefly Noted

O magazine picks the "Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out in 2019."

Salon, by way of The Conversation, offers a "must-read list: The enduring contributions of African American women writers."

In an instant display idea, the Star Tribune suggests "12 cheery books to bring you out of the winter doldrums."

Playboy has found an unpublished interview with Maya Angelou.

The NYT reports that Charles Dickens "tried to have his wife imprisoned in an asylum." The story is based on a new analysis of Dickens's letters held at Harvard and reported first in The Times Literary Supplement.

Time offers a background piece on the story behind If Beale Street Could Talk.

The NYT offers an appraisal of the work of Tomi Ungerer.

In comics, Entertainment Weekly reports on the forthcoming Blade Runner comics. The NYT "Graphic Content" column considers comics in the "Age of Trump." Also in the paper, news that Stan Sakai's "17th-century samurai rabbit, Usagi Yojimbo" will have a new monthly series, as well as new collected editions.

Nora Roberts and The Guardian each write about plagiarism.

The Washington Post features Fay Wray and Robert Riskin: A Hollywood Memoir by Victoria Riskin (Pantheon: Random House).

The NYT spotlights Dave Cullen and his book on the Parkland shooting in this week's "Inside the List" column.

The Guardian interviews Max Porter, Grief Is The Thing With Feathers (Graywolf: Macmillan; LJ starred review).

The NYT prints its obituary for W.E.B. Griffin.

Authors on Air

HBO teases more Game of Thrones footage, along with glimpses of Watchmen and the next round of Big Little Lies

Native Son gets a full teaser.

Over at BBC is the first teaser for His Dark Materials.

NPR interviews Isaac Mizrahi, I.M.: A Memoir (Flatiron: Macmillan). Also getting an interview, Katherine Harmon Courage, Cultured: How Ancient Foods Can Feed Our Microbiome (Avery: Penguin).

Deadline Hollywood reports Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah is headed to Netflix. Pop. 1280 by Jim Thompson is headed to the movies.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month