Page to Screen, Aug. 9, 2019 | Book Pulse

The Kitchen, The Art of Racing in the Rain, and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark lead adaptations this week. A Million Little Pieces gets a trailer. The Atlantic writes about Amazon Publishing. Nine re-discovered stories by Marcel Proust are about to be published (but not yet in English).

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Page to Screen

Comics, kids, and a two beloved books come to screens today and through the week:

Aug. 9:

The Kitchen, based on The Kitchen by Ollie Masters, illustrated by Ming Doyle (Vertigo: DC Entertainment). Reviews | Trailer

The Art of Racing in the Rain, based on The Art of Racing in the Rain Tie-in by Garth Stein (Harper). Reviews | Trailer

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, based on Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark Movie Tie-in Edition by Alvin Schwartz, illustrated by Stephen Gammell (Harper). Reviews | Trailer

Dora and the Lost City of Gold, based on the animated series. There is a junior novel, Dora and the Lost City of Gold: The Deluxe Junior Novel by Steve Behling (Harper). Reviews | Trailer

Spirit Riding Free: Pony Tales. There is an ongoing series of books. No reviews | Trailer

Aug. 10:

Fallen Hearts, based on Fallen Hearts (Media tie-in) by V.C. Andrews (Pocket: S. &. S.). No reviews | Trailer

Aug. 11:

Aurora Teagarden Mysteries: An Inheritance to Die For, based on the series by Charlaine Harris. No reviews | Trailer

Aug. 12:

The Terror: Infamy, spinning off from The Terror by Dan Simmons (Back Bay Books: Hachette). No reviews | Trailer

Aug. 14:

The Angry Birds Movie 2, based on the game. There is a series of books and a junior novel, The Angry Birds Movie 2: The Junior Novel by Heather Nuhfer (Harper). Reviews | Trailer

Reviews

NPR reviews The Ghosts of Eden Park: The Bootleg King, the Women Who Pursued Him, and the Murder That Shocked Jazz-Age America by Karen Abbott (Crown: Random House): “a page-turner, teasing readers with its central mystery, and reaching its climactic final trial with a satisfying bang.”

The Washington Post reviews A Frank O'Hara Notebook by Bill Berkson, Ron Padgett (no place: MIT press): “a literary collage that amounts to a charming, intriguing and insightful portrait of a poet who continues to fascinate.”

The NYT reviews Crisis in the Red Zone: The Story of the Deadliest Ebola Outbreak in History, and of the Outbreaks to Come by Richard Preston (Random House): “However one feels generally about the dramatic tone that Preston favors, it feels especially inappropriate in this book.”

Briefly Noted

Town & Country picks “The 7 Best Books to Read This August.”

Paste selects “The Best Audiobooks of August 2019.”

The Millions gathers “Must-Read Poetry: August 2019.”

LitHub lists “The Best Reviewed Books of the Week.”

The 2019 Dragon Awards ballot titles have been announced. The award covers SFF, Horror, and tie-in novels. Locus reports.

Time considers books with new rules about dating.

The NYT features Alay-Oop by William Gropper (New York Review Comics).

Entertainment Weekly excerpts The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones (Gallery/Saga Press: S. &. S).

Time interviews Ibram X. Kendi, How to Be an Antiracist, (One World: Random House; LJ starred review).

Entertainment Weekly interviews Marie Lu, Rebel: A Legend Novel (Roaring Brook: Macmillan).

Kevin Barry, Night Boat to Tangier (Doubleday: Random House) answers The Guardian’s “Books that made me” questionnaire.

The New Yorker writes about how “David Berman Made Us Feel Less Alone.”

In forthcoming book news, CNN reports on Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators by Ronan Farrow (Little, Brown: Hachette), publishing this October. AXIOS writes that A Citizen's Guide to Beating Donald Trump by David Plouffe (Viking: Penguin) will come out in March 2020. The Keto Guido Cookbook: Delicious Recipes to Get Healthy and Look Great by Vinny Guadagnino (Rockridge Press: Callisto Media) is set for next month. The Philly Voice reports. It is soaring on Amazon.

The Atlantic writes about “The Amazon Publishing Juggernaut. What does the e-commerce giant want with the notoriously fickle world of publishing? To own your every reading decision.”

Nine stories by Marcel Proust, which he is “believed to have kept private because of their ‘audacity’” are going to be published this fall. An English translation has yet to be announced. The Guardian has details.

Authors on Air

Deadline Hollywood reports that “Viola Davis and Julius Tennon’s JuVee Productions [is set to adapt] Brazilian playwright Nelson Rodrigues’ seminal 1960 play The Asphalt Kiss.” Also, Netflix announces the cast for its adaptation of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes.

Book Riot suggests read-alikes for Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.

A Million Little Pieces gets a trailer.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.