Page To Screen, May 3, 2019 | Book Pulse

Six adaptations air today and through next week. Game of Thrones breaks records and Twilight, the film, is going on tour. The Shirley Jackson Award Nominees are announced. Book lists and reading suggestions abound.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Page to Screen

May 3:

UglyDolls, based on the books by David Horvath and Sun-Min Kim. Reviews | Trailer

Tell It To the Bees, based on Tell it to the Bees by Fiona Shaw (Serpent's Tail). Reviews | Trailer

Ask Dr. Ruth, based on the author's life. Reviews | Trailer

May 5:

The Spanish Princess, based on two book by Philippa Gregory, The Constant Princess (HarperCollins) and The King's Curse (Atria: S. & S.; LJ starred review). No Reviews | Trailer

Town & Country has a feature.

May 6:

State of the Union, based on State of the Union: A Marriage in Ten Parts by Nick Hornby (Riverhead: Penguin). Reviews | Trailer

May 8:

Lucifer, based on the DC comics character. Reviews | Trailer

For more, and a longer look out, consult EarlyWord's "Books to Movies" spreadsheet.

Reviews

The NYT has Cynthia Ozick review The Flight Portfolio by Julie Orringer (Knopf): "more Hitchcock than history." Also getting attention today, The Light Years: A Memoir by Chris Rush (FSG: Macmillan): "In the tradition of Henry Adams, Richard Rodriguez, Michelle Tea, the book arrives at its genre: an education." The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez: A Border Story by Aaron Bobrow-Strain (FSG: Macmillan): "A rich, novelistic tale of a young woman whose life spans both sides of the United States-Mexican border." Homeland by Fernando Aramburu, translated by Alfred Macadam (Pantheon: Random House; LJ starred review): "oscillates between a telenovela without intrigue and Dostoyevsky without moral inquiry." Martin Buber: A Life of Faith and Dissent by Paul Mendes-Flohr (Yale): "a scrupulously researched, perceptive biography." Also, the Crime column, the Children's Books column, and "The Shortlist," which looks at books discussing A.I."

NPR reviews Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity by Jamie Metzl (Sourcebooks): "The central question of this fast-paced account of where modern genetics is taking us is simple: How far should we go in changing our genetic identity?"

The Washington Post reviews Spring by Ali Smith (Pantheon: Random House), calling Smith "crazy-brilliant." Also, Throw Me to the Wolves by Patrick McGuinness (Bloomsbury: Macmillan): "combines elegant prose with caustic commentary on romance, education and crime." Fall and Rise: The Story of 9/11 by Mitchell Zuckoff (Harper): "remarkable and groundbreaking." Elegant Defense, An: The Extraordinary New Science of the Immune System: A Tale in Four Lives by Matt Richtel (William Morrow: Harper; LJ starred review): "brilliantly blurs the lines between biology primer, medical historical text and the traditional first-person patient story." The Problem of Democracy: The Presidents Adams Confront the Cult of Personality by Nancy Isenberg, Andrew Burstein (Viking: Penguin): "offers a final warning to its readers who live in an era of “alternate truths” and blind devotion to charismatic leaders." Women's Work: A Reckoning with Work and Home by Megan K. Stack (Doubleday: Random House): "a painfully honest investigation of what kind of compromises women make by hiring other women to do the grunt work." The League of Wives: The Untold Story of the Women Who Took on the U.S. Government to Bring Their Husbands Home by Heath Hardage Lee (St. Martin's: Macmillan; LJ starred review): "exhilarating and inspiring."

Briefly Noted

The Shirley Jackson Award Nominees are announced.

In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne (MCDXFSG: Macmillan) wins the Jhalak prize. The Guardian reports.

The NYT recommends books for the week.

LitHub rounds-up the "Best Reviewed Books of the Week."

CrimeReads spotlights "May's Best Psychological Thrillers."

Tor.com picks the "Genre-Bending Books Coming Out in May."

The Washington Post picks audiobooks.

Belletrist's YA pick for May is The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (Delacorte Press: Random House).

Electric Lit offers reading lists: "17 Books by Queer Asian American Writers" and "7 Strange and Brilliant Holocaust Novels You’ve Probably Never Even Heard About."

CrimeReads highlights "The Irrepressible Allure of the Wedding Cozy."

NPR showcases Free Comic Book Day.

USA Today picks books for Mother's Day.

Entertainment Weekly writes about how Dr. Seuss wrote The Cat in the Hat.

Bitch Media features Esmé Weijun Wang, The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays (Graywolf: Macmillan).

Time features Eve Ensler, The Apology (Bloomsbury: Macmillan; LJ starred review).

Entertainment Weekly excerpts Broken Throne: A Red Queen Collection by Victoria Aveyard (HarperTeen).

Shondaland excerpts Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga (Balzer + Bray: Harper; SLJ starred review).

The Washington Post interviews Fredrik Backman, Things My Son Needs to Know about the World (Atria: S. & S.).

The NYT goes inside its bestseller list for the week.

USA Today writes about the bestseller status of The Mueller Report.

Woody Allen tried to sell his memoirs. The NYT times reports that publishers passed.

Town & Country reports on how "Infidelity Helped Create the Novel."

Entertainment Weekly explores "5 recent Marvel comics that influenced Avengers: Endgame."

The Washington Post writes about New Journalism and Tom Wolfe.

PBS NewsHour posts discussion questions for An Odyssey: A Father, a Son, and an Epic by Daniel Mendelsohn (Knopf; LJ starred review).

The NYT writes about the PEN World Voices Festival.

Authors on Air

PBS NewsHour interviews David Treuer, The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to the Present (Riverhead: Penguin).

"But That's Another Story" podcast interviews Melinda Gates, The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World (Flatiron Books: Macmillan).

Deadline Hollywood writes that Game of Thrones is breaking global records for demand. Also, Twilight is launching a global re-airing tour with a full orchestra. Sideways, already adapted into a film, is now headed to the stage as a musical.

Craig Ferguson, Riding the Elephant: A Memoir of Altercations, Humiliations, Hallucinations, and Observations (Blue Rider Press: Penguin), will be on with Stephen Colbert tonight.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Author Image
Neal Wyatt

nwyatt@mediasourceinc.com

Neal Wyatt is LJ’s readers’ advisory columnist, contributing The Reader’s Shelf, Book Pulse, and Wyatt’s World columns. She is the coauthor of The Readers’ Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction, 3d ed. (ALA Editions, 2019). Contact her at nwyatt@mediasourceinc.com

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.