Oprah picks 'The Sweetness of Water' for Book Club | Book Pulse

Oprah announces new book club pick The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris. Charles Baxter wins the 2021 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story. The Women’s Prize for Fiction ceremony is postponed until September while The Virtual Shortlist Festival is still on, ending its programming today. The July LibraryReads list arrives, with Such a Quiet Place by Megan Miranda earning the top spot. LJ releases pre-pub alerts for Pop Fiction Debuts, Memoir, Arts, and Self Help. LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for The Maidens, by Alex Michaelides, this week’s buzziest book. New publisher, All Seasons Press, will court “conservative writers rejected elsewhere.” Jared Kushner inks a book deal. Hanif Abdurraqib debuts a new podcast.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Book Clubs & Awards

Oprah announces new book club pick The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris (Little, Brown) at OprahDailyUSA Today has a list of every Oprah Book Club pick. The LA Times also has a story.

Charles Baxter wins the 2021 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, The Women’s Prize for Fiction ceremony is postponed until September, reports The Bookseller. The Virtual Shortlist Festival is still on, and ends three days of programming today.

The 2021 Geffen Awards Finalists are announced for best science fiction and fantasy published in HebrewLocus has details.

The Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award 2021 shortlist is announced. Books+Publishing has the story.

IPA’s 2021 Prix Voltaire winner will be announced at the Guadalajara International Book Fair, reports Publishing Perspectives. The award honors “a person or organization adjudged to have made a significant contribution to the defense and promotion of freedom to publish in the world.”

Reviews

The Washington Post reviews The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris (Little, Brown): “Harris stacks the timbers of this plot deliberately, and the moment a spark alights, the whole structure begins to burn hot.”  And, Animal by Lisa Taddeo (Avid Reader: S. & S): “The lesson here is that women do not have to be bound by the desires of men. That women can and should dictate their own stories on their own terms."

 

Briefly Noted

The July LibraryReads list arrives, with the top pick going to Such a Quiet Place by Megan Miranda (S. & S).

LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for The Maidens, by Alex Michaelides (Celadon), this week’s buzziest book. Entertainment Weekly interviews  MichaelidesPopsugar recommends the book.

LJ releases pre-pub alerts for December 2021 in Pop Fiction Debuts, Memoir, Arts, and Self Help.

George Packer, Last Best Hope: America in Crisis and Renewal (Farrar) talks to The LA Timeabout “America’s enduring class struggle, the elusiveness of equality and government’s role in restoring faith in democracy.”

Quinta Brunson, She Memes Well (Houghton Harcourt) shares her pop-culture favorites and what she’s reading with Entertainment Weekly.

Bitch has an interview with Jamal Jordan on romantic resilience and his new book Queer Love in Color (Ten Speed Press).

Salon interviews Edward-Isaac Dovere on his book, Battle for the Soul: Inside the Democrats' Campaigns to Defeat Trump (Viking).

People previews In the Weeds: Around the World and Behind the Scenes with Anthony Bourdain by Tom Vitale (Hachette), out on October 12th. Vitale was Bourdain’s long-time director and producer. Also, a spotlight on Leap of Faith: Finding Love the Modern Way by Cameron Hamilton and Lauren Speed (Gallery).

The NYT has coverage of the new publisher All Seasons Press, that will court “Conservative writers rejected elsewhere.”

Jared Kushner has book deal with HarperCollins conservative imprint Broadside with a memoir expected in 2022. USA Today has the story.

The Guardian considers the challenge of factchecking a Donald Trump memoir.

EW has an excerpt of Jamie Foxx’s forthcoming memoir, Act Like You Got Some Sense: And Other Things My Daughters Taught Me, due out in October. 

Bustle has an excerpt of Karin Slaughter’s new stand-alone legal thriller, False Witness (Morrow), which publishes in July.

Elle has an excerpt from The Moment by Andrea Constant (Viking Canada), which publishes in September. CBC also shares a preview and an excerpt.

The Millions has “Ten Genre-Bending Story Collections.”

The Guardian shares “Top 10 books about public spaces.”

Bustle has the “best new books out this week.”

Vogue has “The 15 LGBTQ+ Books We’re Most Excited About This Year.”

“‘Monster’ Kody Scott, former L.A. gang member who became a bestselling author, has been found dead at age 57,” reports The LA Times.

Authors on Air

NPR’s Fresh Air interviews Ashley C. Ford, Somebody's Daughter (Flatiron: An Oprah Book) about her complicated relationships with her family and her own body.

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein talks about her book The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey Into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred (Bold Type Books) on NPR’s Short Wave.

LitHub has a clip of Dave Eggers’ new story, The Museum of Rain, read by Jeff Daniels for the upcoming audio release. 

Poet and writer Maggie Smith joins Hanif Abdurraqib on his new podcast, Small Joys, to talk about “homemade mac 'n' cheese, jigsaw puzzles, napping in hammocks and inheriting your parents' record collection.”

T&C previews the new Netflix Persuasion adaptation, starring Dakota Johnson.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?