Hot off the Presses! New Books/eBooks Out This Week

Looking for your next great read? Here’s a list of brand-new fiction, memoirs, cookbooks, and more, publishing this week—and all are available as ebooks.

Looking for your next great read? Here’s a list of new fiction, memoirs, cookbooks, and more, publishing this week—and all are available as ebooks.

MYSTERY

A Bad Day for Sunshine by Darynda Jones book covers

Sunshine “Sun” Vicram is the new sheriff in her small hometown and things are not going well: her deputy is missing, there’s an escaped prisoner on the loose, and her teen daughter is being targeted by bullies. For fans of Linda Castillo and J.A. Jance.

Broken by Don Winslow

A collection of crime novellas featuring tough cops, villainous bad guys, and taut action.

ROMANCE

You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hoglebook covers

In this debut rom-com, a engaged couple who have already spent thousands on wedding planning find themselves questioning whether they should actually get married.

After Sundown by Linda Howard & Linda Jones

In this romantic thriller, solar flares threaten to knock out power grids across the country for months, even years. Veteran Ben and local businesswoman Sela are thrown together in their efforts to help their town survive.

SF & FANTASYbook covers

Providence by Max Barry

The crew of the warship Providence Five stands alone at the edge of the universe, prepared to annihilate humanity’s alien enemies, broadcast live for the world to see. But they begin to doubt the intentions of their A.I. and the true mission.

The Glass Magician by Caroline Stevermer

In a Gilded Age New York where magic enables Traders to turn into animal forms, stage magician Thalia relies on tricks and sleight of hand.

LITERARY FICTONbook covers

Afterlife by Julia Alvarez

A retired English professor is caught between her sisters’ drama and the plight of a pregnant undocumented young women—all in the wake of her husband’s death.

The Familiar Dark by Amy Engel

When Eve’s 12-year-old daughter is murdered, she must plumb the depths of her Ozark town and her own family’s history to find justice. An intimate character study disguised as a thriller.

You and Me and Us by Alison Hammer

A debut novel about a fraught mother-daughter relationship and how they come to terms with a fundamental loss in their family.

Miss Austen by Gill Hornby

Attention, Austenites! This historical novel focuses on the life of Cassandra, Jane Austen’s beloved older sister.

The Woman of a Thousand Names by Alexandra Lapierrebook covers

Based on the fascinating and dramatic real life of Maria Zakrevskaya, a double agent for the British and the Bolsheviks.

It’s Not All Downhill from Here by Terry McMillan

The author of How Stella Got Her Groove Back and Waiting To Exhale is back with a family drama filled with wit and compassion, starring sixtysomething Loretha.

COOKING & FOOD

Milk Street Fast and Slow: Instant Pot Cooking at the Speed You Need by Christopher Kimballbook covers

Whether you use it as a pressure cooker or a slow cooker, Instant Pot owners will want to check out these mouth-watering recipes.

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Hiding in Plain Sight: The Invention of Donald Trump and the Erosion of America by Sarah Kendzior

The author of The View from Flyover Country argues that Donald Trump is a media-savvy white-collar criminal—and takes mainstream media to task for failing to hold him accountable.

ARTS & HUMANITIESbook covers

Heaven and Hell: A History of the Afterlife by Bart D. Ehrman

An erudite biblical scholar offers a deep dive into the question of the ages: What happens after we die?

MEMOIRS & BIOGRAPHIES

Nothing General About It: How Love (and Lithium) Saved Me On and Off General Hospital by Maurice Benardbook covers

Benard, best-known for playing Sonny on General Hospital, recounts his experiences with bipolar disorder.

I Want You To Know We’re Still Here: A Post-Holocaust Memoir by Esther Safran Foer

Foer, who immigrated with her family to the United States from Poland in 1946, probes the mysteries of her family’s history and how her mother and father survived the Holocaust.

Betsy by Betsy Johnson & Mark Vitulano

Go behind the scenes with the whimsical fashion designer.

Me & Patsy Kickin’ Up Dust: My Friendship with Patsy Cline by Loretta Lynn & Patsy Lynnbook covers

A valentine from Lynn to her longtime mentor, featuring heartwarming stories about the country music greats. With a foreword by Dolly Parton.

Lincoln on the Verge: Thirteen Days to Washington by Ted Widmer

Journeying from his home in Springfield, IL, to Washington, DC, on his way to his inauguration in 1861, the president-elect dodged assassination attempts, gave countless stump speeches, and made his case for the Union.

SELF-HELP & PARENTING

Becoming Better Grownups: Rediscovering What Matters and Remembering How To Fly by Brad Montaguebook covers

The author visited more than 100 classrooms around the country and asked kids what they want and need from the adults in their lives. What results is a guide to helping grown-ups feel better and do better.

You Can’t F*ck Up Your Kids: A Judgment-Free Guide to Stree-Free Parenting by Lindsay Powers

The creator of the #NoShameParenting movement provides advice and support on everything from breast-feeding to time outs.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month