'Black Ice' by Brad Thor Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Black Ice by Brad Thor leads holds this week. Six LibraryReads and four Indie Next picks publish this week. August’s issue of Entertainment Weekly arrives along with the August LibraryReads list. People's book of the week is Committed: Dispatches from a Psychiatrist in Training by Adam Stern. The Millions shares its “Most Anticipated: The Great Second-Half 2021 Book Preview.”  Jimmy Fallon will reveal the official Tonight Show Fallon Summer Reads pick tonight. Plus, the Ursula K. Le Guin postage stamp hits post offices July 27th. 

 

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week

Black Ice by Brad Thor (Atria: Emily Bestler Books) leads holds this week.

Other titles in demand include: 

I Alone Can Fix It: Donald J. Trump’s Catastrophic Final Year by Carol Leonnig and Philip Rucker (Penguin)

False Witness by Karin Slaughter (Morrow; LJ starred review)

The Other Passenger by Louise Candlish (Atria; LJ starred review)

Last Guard by Nalini Singh (Berkley)

Intimacies by Katie Kitamura (Riverhead)

These books and others publishing the week of July 19th, 2021 are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet.

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

There are six LibraryReads selections and four Indie Next picks publishing this week:

Last Guard by Nalini Singh (Berkley)

“As the Psy-Changeling series gets longer, Singh still focuses on great world-building and fresh characters. The latest installment introduces new protagonists and expands the setting to India. While the book may not be the best entrypoint for new readers, longtime fans will find lots to enjoy.”—Jessica Werner, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA

Isn't It Bromantic? by Lyssa Kay Adams (Berkley)

“It’s refreshing to read a romance featuring men with healthy friendships who discuss mental health and how to combat toxic masculinity. This installment of the Bromance series focuses on hockey player Vlad and his wife Elena and also celebrates their Russian heritage.”—Jennifer Sullivan, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA

For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing (Berkley)

“Belmont Academy is one of the most prestigious prep schools in the country. However, teacher Teddy Crutcher despises many of the elitist parents and entitled pupils, and he plans to do something about it. This nonstop roller coaster ride will have readers turning pages deep into the night.”—KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT

False Witness by Karin Slaughter (Morrow; LJ starred review)

“Leigh is a successful Atlanta attorney while her estranged sister, Callie, is a drug addict. When Leigh defends a serial rapist, she and Callie are forced to confront their traumatic past and complicated future. This is a thrill ride with satisfying depth and two main characters worth rooting for.”—Donna Ballard, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives by Kristin Miller (Ballantine)

"When Brooke moves to the exclusive California neighborhood of Presidio Terrace, she befriends both Erin and Georgia. She finds out much more than she ever expected. Readers will be so wrapped up in the drama, privilege, and mystery, they might finish in one sitting. For readers who enjoyed Big Little Lies and Never Have I Ever."—Danielle Aronowitz, South Plainfield Public Library, South Plainfield, NJ

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan (Tor; LJ starred review)

"In her intense, wonderfully written, and completely absorbing debut, Parker-Chan gives 14th century China a stunner of a rewrite. When her father and brother die as a consequence of a brutal attack, Zhu leaves her impoverished village and takes on her brother’s identity and his fate. For readers who enjoyed Priory of the Orange Tree, Gideon the Ninth, and The Poppy War."—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington, NY

It is also an Indie Next pick: “Zhu’s tooth-and-nail fight for her destiny merges hero and antihero into a transcendent figure with an incomparably strong will. She Who Became the Sun carves out a bold and bloody new genre of epic fantasy.”—Jessie Prutisto-Chang, Third Place Books, Lake Forest Park, WA

Three additional Indie Next picks publish this week, starting with Intimacies by Katie Kitamura (Riverhead)

“A cool and precise portrait of a woman and system on the verge of breaking, this latest literary thriller from Kitamura quietly insinuates itself into readers’ consciousness with subtle and haunting force.”—Stephen Sparks, Point Reyes Books, Point Reyes Station, CA

The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig (Del Rey; LJ starred review)

“Despite the classically creepy content of a true horror tale, I found myself devouring these pages before going to sleep at night and seeking them out again first thing in the morning, nightmares be damned.”—Sara Knight, Maria’s Bookshop, Durango, CO

Nightbitch by Rachel Yoder (Doubleday)

“At once weird, darkly funny, moving, relatable, and deliciously messed up, Nightbitch is a rallying howl to women, and especially mothers, everywhere.”—Danielle Raub, Itinerant Literate Books, Charleston, SC

 

 

In the Media

August’s issue of Entertainment Weekly is out now. The “Must List” includes Embassy Wife by Katie Crouch (Farrar), The Turnout by Megan Abbott (Putnam; LJ starred review). Bosch’s Titus Welliver recommends The Hard Crowd: Essays 2000–2020 by Rachel Kushner (Scribner). Book Coverage includes reviews of Edge Case by YZ Chin (Ecco), Radiant Fugitives by Nawaaz Ahmed (Counterpoint), Intimacies by Katie Kitamura (Riverhead), Immediate Family by Ashley Nelson Levy (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), and Afterparties by Anthony Veasna So (Ecco). Also, Ghosts by Dolly Alderton (Knopf), All’s Well by Mona Awad (S. & S.), and In the Country of Others by Leila Slimani (Penguin) get attention. There is a Q&A with Stephen King, Billy Summers (Scribner: S. & S.). EW online also posts the interview with King, a Q&A with Tiffany McDanielBetty (Knopf), and a sneak peak at a follow-up comic series to Joe Hill's Basketful of Heads (Hill House: DC; LJ starred review).

The People "Picks" book of the week is Committed: Dispatches from a Psychiatrist in Training by Adam Stern (Houghton Harcourt). Also getting attention are Wayward by Dana Spiotta (Knopf; LJ starred review) and The Rehearsals by Annette Christie (Little, Brown). A “New in Nonfiction" section highlights First Friends: The Powerful, Unsung (And Unelected) People Who Shaped Our Presidents by Gary Ginsberg (Twelve: Hachette), What Is a Dog? by Chloe Shaw (Flatiron), and Forgetting: The Benefits of Not Remembering by Scott A. Small (Crown). The "Picks" section spotlights Space Jam: A New Legacy, with associated titles, in theaters & HBO Max, and Roadrunner: A Film About Anthony Bourdain. There is also a wide-ranging interview with Sarah Ferguson, the Duchess of York, whose novel Her Heart for a Compass (Morrow), arrives August 3rd.

Reviews

NPR reviews A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers (Tordotcom; LJ starred review): “begins a series that looks optimistic and hopeful, pursuing stories that arise from abundance instead of scarcity, kindness instead of cruelty, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.”

USA Today reviews Stolen: A Memoir by Elizabeth Gilpin (Grand Central Publishing), giving it 3.5 out of 4 stars: “Gilpin revisits her terror and trauma in order to shine a light on the extraordinary and dehumanizing practices of the therapeutic boarding school industry. Gripping and detailed, Stolen will linger long for readers as both a survival story and powerful testament.”

The NYT reviews The Cult of We: WeWork, Adam Neumann, and the Great Startup Delusion by Eliot Brown and Maureen Farrell (Crown): “a juicy guided tour through the highly leveraged, not-quite-rags-to-billion-dollar-parachute saga of WeWork and its co-founder Adam Neumann, a startup demagogue who aspired to be a demigod, but got hamstrung by his ego and greed.” And, Three Days at Camp David : How a Secret Meeting in 1971 Transformed the Global Economy by Jeffrey E. Garten (Harper): “a fascinating and for the most part well-executed case study of how some important economic decisions were made.”

The Washington Post reviews The 22 Murders of Madison May by Max Barry (G.P. Putnam’s Sons): “Barry strives to paint equally compelling portraits of the two women and comes pretty darn close.”

The Guardian reviews Nightbitch by Rachel Yoder (Doubleday): “Nightbitch’s premise may not be radically original, and neither is its denouement – but Yoder’s peculiar wit infuses new life into the cold, furry flesh of the monstrous femme.”

Briefly Noted

The Millions is out with its “Most Anticipated: The Great Second-Half 2021 Book Preview.”

The August LibraryReads arrives with If the Shoe Fits by Julie Murphy (Disney-Hyperion) claiming the top spot.

USA Today picks five books for the week.

CrimeReads suggests 10 books out this week.

NYT has “Audiobooks for Every Attention Span.” Also, Crime Fiction suggestions, and 6 New Paperbacks out this week.

Grady Hendrix, The Final Girl Support Group (Berkley; LJ starred review) recommends "absurdly entertaining" serial killer books at CrimeReads.

The Rumpus has interviews with Joy Lanzendorfer about Right Back Where We Started From (Blackstone) and poet Donika Kelly, The Renunciations (Graywolf Press).

The Millions has an interview with Dana Spiotta about her new novel, Wayward (Knopf; LJ starred review).

LitHub talks with authors shortlisted for the Caine Prize for African Writing.

NYT has a feature on “The New Magazines and Journals Shaping Africa’s Literary Scene.”

The Atlantic’s Books Briefing explores “What the Best Travel Writing Can Do.”

Salon has “What "Jane Eyre" taught me about women's anger.”

BuzzFeed shares book tropes making the internet rounds.

Vanity Fair provides an excerpt from I Alone Can Fix It: Donald J. Trump’s Catastrophic Final Year by Carol Leonnig and Philip Rucker (Penguin).

Ursula K. Le Guin postage stamp hits post offices July 27th. Tordotcom has more.

Authors on Air

Space Jam: A New Legacy, with assoc. titles, beat Marvel’s Black Widow, with assoc. titles, at the box office. Variety has more.

Fox News’ Mark R. Levin talks with Pete Hegseth about his new bookAmerican Marxism (Threshold Editions), on his weekly show, "Life, Liberty & Levin."

Jimmy Fallon will reveal the official Tonight Show Fallon Summer Reads pick tonight. 

Norma Kamali, Norma Kamali I Am Invincible (Harry N. Abrams), is on Tamron Hall today.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?