BookExpo Postponed to July | Book Pulse

BookExpo is postponed until July 22-26. PRH says they are still not attending. S. & S. is “reviewing its options.” The Lammys will not be held in person this June but the winners will still be announced as planned. The 2020 Windham Campbell literary prize winners are announced and the shortlists for the Carnegie Medal for best children’s book and the Kate Greenaway Medal for best illustrations in a children’s book are out. Money, science, and art are among the topics of adaptations arriving today and through next week.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Page to Screen

Money, science, and art are among the topics of adaptations arriving today and through next week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

March 20:

Self Made: Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker, inspired by On Her Own Ground: The Life and Times of Madam C. J. Walker by A’Lelia Bundles (Scribner: S. & S.). Netflix. Reviews (scroll down) | Trailer

The Letter for the King, based on the novel of the same name by Tonke Dragt. Netflix. Reviews | Trailer

Margaret Atwood: A Word After a Word After a Word Is Power, a documentary about life and work of the author. Hulu. No reviews | Trailer

Archibald's Next Big Thing, based on Archibald's Next Big Thing by Tony Hale, Tony Biaggne, illustrated by Misty Manley (Boxing Clever). Netflix. Reviews | Trailer

March 23:

Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears, based on the series by Kerry Greenwood. Acorn. No reviews | Trailer

Freud, based on the life of Sigmund Freud. Netflix. No reviews | Trailer

March 24:

Council of Dads, based on The Council of Dads: A Story of Family, Friendship & Learning How to Live by Bruce Feiler (William Morrow: Harper). NBC. Reviews | Trailer

March 25:

Humboldt: Epic Explorer, featuring author Andrea Wulf, The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt's New World (Knopf). Smithsonian Channel. No reviews | Trailer

March 26:

7 SEEDS, based on the Japanese manga series by Yumi Tamura. Netflix. No reviews | Trailer

Unorthodox, based on Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots (Media tie-in) by Deborah Feldman (S. & S.). Netflix. No reviews | Trailer

Reviews

The NYT reviews The Red Lotus by Chris Bohjalian (Doubleday: Random House): “terrific.” Also, Hitler's First Hundred Days: When Germans Embraced the Third Reich by Peter Fritzsche (Basic Books: Hachette; LJ starred review): “tremendous verve … it is his capacity for turning the lens back onto the viewer that makes his work so profound and so convincing.” Also, a collection of books that are “Noir Delights” and a group of thrillers that “Will Have You on the Edge of Your Seat.”

NPR reviews The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai (Algonquin: Workman; LJ starred review): “a luminous, complex family narrative.”

The Washington Post reviews The Ice Cream Man and Other Stories by Sam Pink (Soft Skull Press): “Pink can make perfect little sentences.”

Book Marks gathers “The Best Reviewed Books of the Week.”

Coronavirus News And RA/Collection Development Resources

BookExpo is postponed until July 22-26. PRH says they are still not attending. S. & S. is “reviewing its options.” USA Today reports. Related, the Hay literature festival in the UK is cancelled. The Guardian has details.

The Lammys will not be held in person this June but the winners will still be announced as planned.

Free Comic Day has been postponed, moved until this summer. The L.A. Times has details.

Librarian David Wright of Seattle Public Library has “Books for you and/or your kids to read while the coronavirus pandemic keeps schools closed” in The Seattle Times.

Vulture offers “What to Watch and Read to Fill the March Madness Void.”

The Strategist has “What to Read During Self-Quarantine, According to McNally Jackson Booksellers.”

Refinery29 suggests “8 Books To Read If You’re Suddenly Nostalgic For Inter-Office Drama.”

Vulture surveys pop-up podcasts, some featuring authors.

Book Riot has a rundown of cookbook authors helping through the quarantine.

People points out that public libraries have free “access to all the reading material you could want.” On a related note, Booklist announces that “all Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com is freely available until further notice.”

The BBC is launching “Culture in Quarantine.” Variety writes that “The initiative, which will be spread across BBC radio as well as channels BBC Two and BBC Four and catch-up service iPlayer, will include guides to shuttered exhibitions or permanent collections in museums and galleries; performances from musicians and comedians; new plays created especially for broadcast; the experience of book festivals with access to authors; and quarantine diaries from creative visionaries.” Some of the material should be accessible in the US.

Publishers Weekly has an interview with the CEO of Barnes & Noble, James Daunt, who says "Books are crucial during this period."

Egyptian author Ahdaf Soueif has been arrested “during a protest about the treatment of prisoners during the coronavirus outbreak.” English PEN is calling for her release. The Bookseller has details.

Awards

The 2020 Windham Campbell literary prize winners are announced. Namwali Serpell and Yiyun Li are among the eight winners. The Guardian reports.

The shortlists for the Carnegie Medal for best children’s book and the Kate Greenaway Medal for best illustrations in a children’s book are out.

The Benjamin Franklin Award finalists are announced.

Briefly Noted

The NYT has “An Illustrated Guide to Spring’s Essential Reads.” Also, nine books recommended this week.

The L.A. Times has art books.

V.E. Schwab reveals the cover of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue (Tor Books: Macmillan) in Entertainment Weekly.

Tor.com has the cover of To Hold Up the Sky by Cixin Liu (Tor Books: Macmillan).

Tor.com excerpts The Last Human by Zack Jordan (Del Rey: Random House).

The NYT features the new Marie Kondo workplace book, Joy at Work: Organizing Your Professional Life (Little, Brown Spark: Hachette).

Tor.com continues its “Ten Years of Queering SFF” column with a look at Scream, Queen! podcast.

Molly Brodak, poet and memoirist, has died. The NYT has an obituary.

Authors on Air

NPR’s All Things Considered features William Gibson, Agency (Berkley: Penguin).

Bustle writes about Channel 5’s adaptation of Kate O'Riordan’s novel Penance.

Popsugar gathers Netflix Original movies based on books. Also, read-alikes for Little Fires Everywhere.

The NYT writes about some of the movies moving from theatres to home viewing, many are based on books.

Book Riot considers the literary canon of the Alien franchise.

On Read with Jenna, Hoda Kotb reads her children’s book

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month