Shirley Jackson & Anthony Award Nominees Announced | Book Pulse

Authors Robin DiAngelo, White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People To Talk About Racism, and Lauren Michele Jackson, White Negroes: When Cornrows Were in Vogue...and Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation, lead the antiracist book conversation today. YA lit and police brutality is also a top discussion. The nominees or shortlists are out for The Shirley Jackson Award, The Anthony Award, and the Forward Prizes for Poetry. Neil Gaiman has a new picture book on the way.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Antiracist Reading Lists, News, and Collection Development/RA Resources

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entertainment Weekly hosts “A frank conversation about YA literature, police brutality, and the nuances of Black storytelling” with Nic Stone and Kim Johnson.

Amazon’s Omnivoracious interviews Robin DiAngelo, White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People To Talk About Racism (Beacon). NPR’s All Things Considered also interviews Robin DiAngelo.

Poets line up to criticize the Poetry Foundation’s statement on Black Lives Matter. The NYT reports. Here is the open letter.

Autostraddle: “Resistance 101 Reading List: A Crash-Course for Aspiring Revolutionaries.”

O: The Oprah Magazine: “9 Essential Angela Davis Books to Add to Your Shelf.”

The Oregonian: “35 books about race, recommended by black Portland writers.”

NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour considers “The Limitations Of An Anti-Racist Reading List” with Lauren Michele Jackson, the author of White Negroes: When Cornrows Were in Vogue...and Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation (Beacon).

Reviews

The Washington Post reviews The Worlds of J. R. R. Tolkien: The Places That Inspired Middle-earth by John Garth (Princeton): “a fascinating, gorgeously illustrated and thought-provoking examination of the landscapes, cities and architecture that inspired Tolkien during his lifelong creation of Middle-earth.” Also, Devolution: A Firsthand ­Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre by Max Brooks (Del Rey: Ballantine; LJ starred review): “Without considerably sharper writing, making us wait more than 100 pages for the inevitable reveal of our hairy antagonists is just cruel.” The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner (St. Martin’s Press: Macmillan; LJ starred review): “If you’ve never cracked the spine of Sense and Sensibility or Persuasion, you may still adore this sweet, old-fashioned story — but if you do know Austen’s work, you’ll appreciate it all the more.”

The NYT reviews The Margot Affair by Sanaë Lemoine (Hogarth: Crown: Random House; LJ starred review): “gorgeous.”

Briefly Noted

The Shirley Jackson Award nominees are named.

The Anthony Award nominees are also announced.

The shortlist for the Forward Prizes for Poetry are announced. The Guardian has a feature story on the nominees.

Entertainment Weekly has a short piece on Neil Gaiman’s forthcoming picture book Pirate Stew, illustrated by Chris Riddell (Quill Tree Books). It arrives December 1.  The Guardian also covers the release, writing that Gaiman describes the book as featuring “a boy and his sister who embark on ‘a riotous adventure beneath a pirate moon’ with one Long John McRon, ‘Ship’s Cook … and the most unusual babysitter you’ve ever seen’.

The Washington Post features Symone D. Sanders, No, You Shut Up: Speaking Truth to Power and Reclaiming America (Harper).

Entertainment Weekly excerpts Together in a Sudden Strangeness: America's Poets Respond to the Pandemic edited by Alice Quinn (Knopf).

io9 excerpts A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine (Tor: Macmillan).

The NYT’s “New & Noteworthy” column is out, as is the “Graphic Content” column. The paper also features author Beatriz Williams in the “What I Love” column.

NPR’s Romance column is out.

Tor.com highlights “Four Filipinx Authors Rocking Epic Fantasy.”

Lit Hub suggests “10 Story Collections You May Have Missed in May.”

CrimeReads has “Seven Thrillers About Identity and Reinvention.”

The Strategist picks “The Best Books for Every Type of Dad.”

Book Riot has read-alikes for David Baldacci.

Lit Hub has a piece by staff writer Gabrielle Bellot titled “How JK Rowling Betrayed the World She Created.”

O: The Oprah Magazine has “Over 100 LGBTQ Authors Share the Books that Changed Their Lives.”

Elena Ferrante’s new novel, The Lying Life of Adults (Europa Editions) is out in France, and fans are making it a bestseller. It comes out in the US in September, having been pushed backed from its original June date. Yahoo! News has details of the French reception.

Emily Giffin, The Lies That Bind (Ballantine: Random House), apologizes for her comments about Meghan Markle. USA Today has the details. Giffin offers advice in Parade’s column where authors help readers, the aptly named “Novel Advice.”

Bustle features Abby Wambach, Wolfpack (Young Readers Edition) (Roaring Brook Press: Macmillan).

Shondaland showcases Dominique Crenn, Rebel Chef: In Search of What Matters (Penguin).

People interviews William Barber, We Are Called to Be a Movement (Workman).

Electric Lit interviews Megha Majumdar, A Burning (Knopf; LJ starred review).

Esquire interviews Jean Kyoung Frazier, Pizza Girl (Doubleday: Random House).

Bitch Media interviews Jenara Nerenberg, Divergent Mind: Thriving in a World That Wasn't Designed for You (HarperOne).

Lit Hub interviews Alice Hoffman. Her newest book is coming in October, Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic (S. & S.).

The Virtual Book Channel has a conversation between Adania Shibli and Madeleine Thien.

Will Leitch has a book deal with Harper for a debut novel to be titled Lucky. He is the founder of Deadspin. It will come out in the summer of 2021. Vulture has details.

Authors on Air

The film I Am Not Your Negro is streaming for free at PBS.org, Hoopla, and Kanopy. Shadow and Act has it, and five more “Essential Films About Systemic Racism You Can View For Free Right Now.”  Vanity Fair also looks at important films, this time documentaries that showcase "Black Defiance at the Movies." Some are book related.

Fox News features Perfectly Wounded: A Memoir About What Happens After a Miracle by Mike Day, with Robert Vera (Twelve: Hachette).

The Today show features Leslie Gray Streeter, Black Widow: A Sad-Funny Journey Through Grief for People Who Normally Avoid Books with Words Like "Journey" in the Title (Little, Brown: Hachette; LJ starred review) and David Kessler, Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief (Scribner: S. & S.).

HBO Max takes down the film adaptation of Gone With the Wind and says it will put it back on with “discussions of its historical context.” Deadline reports.

Stacey Abrams, Our Time Is Now: Power, Purpose, and the Fight for a Fair America (Henry Holt: Macmillan), will be on with Stephen Colbert tonight.

A trailer is out for You Should Have Left, based on the book by Daniel Kehlmann. It premieres on June 19 as video on demand.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month