Susanna Clarke’s 'Piranesi,' read by Chiwetel Ejiofor, Wins Top Audie Award

The Audie Award winners are announced and Susanna Clarke’s Piranesi, read by Chiwetel Ejiofor, takes the top prize. More authors speak about anti Asian-American bias. News is out about Susan Orlean’s On AnimalsLitHub and Kimpton Hotels partner on a book club for travelers. CBC has read-alikes for HenchEater has a guide to 17 cookbooks for Spring.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Awards

The Audie Award Winners are announced. Susanna Clarke’s Piranesi, read by Chiwetel Ejiofor, is named the 2021 Audiobook of the Year.

Results of the 2021 International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts IAFA Awards are out. Locus has the winners.

Yale’s Windham Campbell Awards are announced and include Vivian Gornick for non-fiction and Renee Gladman for fiction. The Guardian profiles winners Renee Gladman, Renee Gladman & Fred Moten: One Long Black Sentence (Image Text Ithaca Press) and translator Kate Briggs, This Little Art (Fitzcaraldo).

Reviews

The NYT reviews Places of Mind: A Life of Edward Said by Timothy Brennan (Farrar; LJ Starred Review): “Brennan seems to be speaking to others in his fields of expertise, not to an eager and curious general reader...perhaps my hopes for “Places of Mind” were simply too high.” Also, Raft of Stars by Andrew J Graff (Ecco: HarperCollins): “Graff, who is a veteran of the war in Afghanistan, depicts his battle-scarred heroes with knowing generosity. In spare and unpretentious prose, he shows how their hard lives have left them wary and emotionally knotted.”  Rock Me on the Water: 1974-The Year Los Angeles Transformed Movies, Music, Television, and Politics by Ronald Brownstein (Harper): “Brownstein is at his most convincing when describing the film and TV worlds, which produced the most radical assault on mainstream culture." The Empathy Diaries by Sherry Turkle (Penguin): “the ongoing story of Turkle’s family life seemed to hit a single note — one of sympathy and gratitude, to be sure, but one that did not necessarily deepen the main narrative. However, with Turkle’s story of her marriage to Seymour Papert her personal adventures struck gold.”  My Friend Natalia by Laura Lindstedt, translated by David Hackston (Liverlight: Norton): “The deeper, indeed more layered, mystery is, it emerges, the novel’s chimerical narrator.” International novels make The Shortlist. And the NYT’s Group Text is on Red Island House by Andrea Lee (Scribner: S. & S.).

The Seattle Times reviews Unapologetic Eating: Make Peace with Food and Transform Your Life by Alissa Rumsey (Victory Belt): “Drawing from research, client stories and her own experiences, Rumsey pairs ample food for thought about why we feel we need to “fix” ourselves with actionable steps for breaking free from dieting, redefining your relationship with your body, and ultimately becoming a more empowered human.”

The San Francisco Chronicle reviews The Vietri Project by Nicola DeRobertis-Theye (Harper): “this wandering bildungsroman unfolds as self-realization: gradually, thoughtfully, around the metaphor of city as self. This meditation on history, identity and family questions how and why we form the stories we tell about ourselves.”

Briefly Noted

NBC anchor Richard Liu Enough About Me: The Unexpected Power of Selflessness (Zondervan) speaks with The San Francisco Chronicle on spotlighting the good in the midst of anti-Asian hate crimes. Fox News profiles author and interior designer star Joanna Gaines, The World Needs Who You Were Made to Be (Thomas Nelson) who reflects on the racism her family endured and being biracial. And PW reports Asian American and Pacific Islander authors and bookstagrammers launch #StandUpforAAPI, to raise awareness of the ongoing violence and hate incidents targeting AAPI communities. Author Angie Kim, Miracle Creek (Sarah Crichton Books: Macmillan; LJ starred review), writes in The Washington Post, “I’ve experienced anti-Asian harassment and written it into my novels. I’m not ready to move on.” Also, Charles Yu, Interior Chinatown (Pantheon), penned an op-ed in the LA Times.

The Seattle Times has 15 books to learn about the Asian American experience.

With an exclusive cover reveal, EW interviews Susan Orlean about her new book On Animals (Avid Reader Press: S&S), which hits shelves Oct 5.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Mexican Gothic (Del Rey: Random House), and Lavie Tidhar, The Violent Century (Thomas Dunne: St. Martin's; LJ starred review ), discuss Indian science fiction and fantasy novels in The Washington Post.

The Guardian rounds up three thrillers.

Buzzfeed has a list of 41 Indie Booksellers Picks.

Bustle recommends books for the globetrotter.

CBC recommends 10 Canadian Books to Read for fans of Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots (Morrow: LJ Starred Review).

The L.A. Times reports on how "Amanda Gorman brings the representation debate to the small world of book translation."

Variety talks with Ann Sarnoff about "Zack Snyder’s Justice League’ and DC’s Future."

LitHub and Kimpton Hotels announce a partnership with a book club and lending program for travelers. Imbolo Mbue and Patricia Lockwood speak with LitHub to kick off the program.

Quercus has acquired The Lick of Love, a memoir by comedian Julian Clary, told through his relationship with his beloved dogs, The Bookreporter notes.

In a year of loss, Vox reexamines C.S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed.

Eater lists The 17 best cookbooks for Spring, including forthcoming titles: To Asia, With Love: Everyday Asian Recipes and Stories From the Heart by Hetty McKinnon (Prestel), It’s Always Freezer Season: How to Freeze Like a Chef with 100 Make-Ahead Recipes by Ashley Christensen and Kaitlyn Goalen (Ten Speed Press), Cook, Eat, Repeat: Ingredients, Recipes, and Stories by Nigella Lawson (Ecco), and Bress ’N’ Nyam: Gullah Geechee Recipes from a Sixth-Generation Farmer by Matthew Raiford with Amy Paige Condon (Countryman: Norton).

Douglas Adams's archive will be part of a new book. The Guardian has a report, along with images, particularly of a note he wrote about the writing process.  

Polish poet Adam Zagajewski, "a leading figure in Poland’s New Wave, or Generation ’68, literary movement of the late 1960s that called for a simple language to relate directly to reality” died at the age of 75. The Chicago Tribune reports.

Egyptian author Nawal El Saadawi has died at 89BBC News reports.

The Paris Book Fair has been cancelled for the second year in a row.

Authors on Air

Don Lemon, This Is the Fire: What I Say to My Friends about Racism (Little, Brown) talks to Wendy Williams tonight. Also, The Kelly Clarkson Show features Teresa Palmer and Sarah Wright Olsen, The Zen Mama Guide to Finding Your Rhythm in Pregnancy, Birth, and Beyond (Harper Horizon).

Julia Sweig, Lady Bird Johnson: Hiding in Plain Sight (Random House), corrects the record on her book’s subject with NPR’s Fresh Air.

Y'lan Noel is set to star in the FX adaptation of Sam Greenlee's 1969 novel The Spook Who Sat By The Door (Wayne State University Press). Deadline writes, “Like the novel, the miniseries highlights structural racism in the U.S. by following a Black CIA operative.” Also, Katie Holmes, through her Noelle Productions banner, has optioned The Watergate Girl: My Fight For Truth and Justice Against A Criminal President by Jill Wine-Banks (Henry Holt: Macmillan): “Holmes will star and produce the project, which is planned as a feature adaptation.” Deadline has the exclusive.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?