Read-Alikes for ‘Life’s Too Short’ by Abby Jimenez | LibraryReads

LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons waiting for Life’s Too Short by Abby Jimenez.

Life’s Too Short, by Abby Jimenez (Forever: Hachette), is the top holds title of the week (4/5/21). LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons waiting for this buzziest book.

“Jimenez hits it out of the park again. She combines real-world issues with the get-the-girl, lose-the-girl dynamics of a romance. In this case, Adrian has a good chance of losing Vanessa to ALS. They both have multiple family issues, including a hoarding father, an abandoning parent, a sister with addiction issues, and a baby niece that needs attention. Give to fans of Mia Sosa and Josie Silver.”—Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleboro, MA

 

READ-ALIKES

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert (Avon; LJ starred review)
Appeared on the November 2019 LibraryReads list

“Chloe is doing all she can to avoid being defined by her illness. Redford is a talented artist who was verbally abused by his former girlfriend. Smart and snarky, they find ways to help each other face their challenges. Snappy dialogue, dynamic characters, and a realistic story make this a good choice for fans of Alyssa Cole and Jasmine Guillory.”—Paula Pergament, LIncolnwood Public Library, Lincolnwood, IL

 

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory (Berkley)
Appeared on the October 2018 LibraryReads list

“A disastrous public wedding proposal results in a chance meeting between Nik and Carlos. What follows is a delightfully humorous and sweet story about two people falling for each other while remaining seemingly unaware of their blossoming romance. The book sets itself apart by portraying a self-aware, feminist woman who enjoys positive relationships with female friends. An engaging and upbeat multicultural romance.”—LaNiesha Bowles, Boston Public Library, Boston, MA

 

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai (Avon; LJ starred review)
Appeared on the August 2019 LibraryReads list

“An intelligent, multicultural contemporary romance. Rhi, CEO of the Crush dating app, and Samson, an NFL star, embark on a joint project that turns into more than just talk. Issues of #MeToo in the tech industry and the NFL’s concussion problem are woven in. For readers of the ‘Forbidden Heart’ series, Elle Wright, and Alyssa Cole.”—Jessica Werner, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA  

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?