Read-Alikes for  “A Court of Silver Flames” by Sarah J. Maas | LibraryReads

LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons as they wait for A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas.

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas (Bloomsbury: Macmillan) is the top holds title of the week (2/15/21). LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons as they wait for this buzziest book.

The fourth title in the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series features High Fae Nesta Archeron and the warrior Cassian.

 

READ-ALIKES

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo (Flatiron: Macmillan; LJ starred review)

Appeared on the October 2019 LibraryReads list

“Alex has always been able to see ghosts, and this talent uniquely qualifies her to become part of the Lethe, a group that regulates the eight magical societies at Yale. When a murder happens nearby the campus Alex suspects that a society has their hand in this and it’s not just a normal homicide. For fans of urban fantasy and secret societies.”—Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA

 

The Motion of Puppets by Keith Donohue (Picador)

Appeared on the October 2016 LibraryReads list

“A young couple find themselves caught in a web of magic and horror. Kay is an acrobat and goes missing. Her husband cannot believe that she has disappeared and searches the city in vain, all the while not guessing that she has been spirited away by a puppet master in the toy shop that fascinated her during their walks. Kay begins life anew as a puppet and soon begins to befriend the other puppets at night when they come to life. Will the evil that has charmed Kay be stronger than her husband’s love? Donohue writes a frightening account reminiscent of Grimms’ fairy tales and it will keep you up reading til dawn.” —Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

 

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey (Tor; LJ starred review)

Appeared on the June 2019 LibraryReads list

“A blend of fantasy and murder mystery. Magic meets noir, throw in some romance and some witty dialog and you have a great pick for summer reading. For fans of Jasper Fforde and the Charley Davidson novels.”—Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga Public Library

 

A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik (Del Rey: Ballantine; LJ starred review)

Appeared on the September 2020 LibraryReads list

“Scholomance is an elite school of magic where only the strongest survive, literally. Deadly beasts hide around every corner, and the spells learned in class could save your life. Adventure, world-building, friendships formed in adversity, and a murderous school? Irresistible!” —Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?