Mary Trump Book Releases Two Weeks Early | Book Pulse

Mary Trump’s Too Much and Never Enough is publishing two weeks early, now out on July 14. Also in the news, another book about Melania Trump is on the way, this one by Stephanie Winston Wolkoff, the former advisor let go over questions of inauguration money. Sources report that it “trashes the First Lady.” The 2019 VIDA Count is out. Amazon releases its accounting of the most books sold to date this year. The Maurice Sendak Foundation makes a deal with Apple TV+ and Brad Pitt is starring in a new adaptation, Bullet Train.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Trump Publishing

Mary Trump’s Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World’s Most Dangerous Man (S. & S.) is publishing two weeks early, now out on July 14 reports The Guardian. CNN’s Brian Stelter has an image of the back cover of the book with some of the text: “Today, Donald is much as he was at three years old: incapable of growing, learning or evolving, unable to regulate his emotions, moderate his responses or take in and synthesize information.”

Another book about Melania Trump is on the way, this one by Stephanie Winston Wolkoff, the former advisor let go over questions of inauguration money. It is titled Melania & Me and will come out from Gallery: S. & S. on September 1. The Guardian reports. The Daily Beast writes “people with knowledge of the project say the content of the book is largely negative and that the manuscript heavily trashes the first lady.”

Reviews

The NYT reviews Crooked Hallelujah by Kelli Jo Ford (Grove): “finds its center of gravity at the intimate human level.” Also, Notes on a Silencing: A Memoir by Lacy Crawford (Little, Brown: Hachette): “erudite and devastating.” Desert Notebooks: A Road Map for the End of Time by Ben Ehrenreich (Counterpoint): “Out of love and despair (where else does art come from?), he has built a potent memorial to our own ongoing end-times.” The Golden Cage by Camilla Läckberg, translated by Neil Smith (Knopf): “smart, unflinching.” The Shadows by Alex North (Celadon Books: Macmillan): “absorbing, headlong reading, a play on classic horror with an inventiveness of its own.” Want by Lynn Steger Strong (Henry Holt: Macmillan): “While it doesn’t fix the world or even pay the rent, in companionship there is grace.” Raising a Rare Girl: A Memoir by Heather Lanier (Penguin): “writing is clean and beautiful.” Lake Life by David James Poissant (S. & S.): “If your household’s summer vacation was canceled this year, console and distract yourself with [this] tale of a family getaway gone very wrong.” The Vapors: A Southern Family, the New York Mob, and the Rise and Fall of Hot Springs, America's Forgotten Capital of Vice by David Hill (FSG: Macmillan): “Hazel’s story — complex, turbulent, as haunting as a pedal steel solo — serves as a soft rebuttal to that idea, and is the wellspring of David Hill’s achievement here.” Burning Down the House: Newt Gingrich, the Fall of a Speaker, and the Rise of the New Republican Party by Julian E. Zelizer (Penguin): “an insightful if deeply unflattering portrait of Gingrich himself, highlighting his signature traits of arrogance, ferocity, amorality and shoulder-shrugging indifference to truth.” Quitter: A Memoir of Drinking, Relapse, and Recovery by Erica C. Barnett (Viking: Penguin): “For those who find themselves drinking more than usual in the era of Covid — especially women, who are more likely to become alcoholics later in life — “Quitter” is both a warning and a reminder.” A Peculiar Peril by Jeff VanderMeer (FSG: Macmillan): “a heck of a lot of fun.” Florence Adler Swims Forever by Rachel Beanland (S. & S.): “draws the reader in. The situation she describes is poignant and the characters she develops win us over with their private grief.” Mother Daughter Widow Wife by Robin Wasserman (Scribner: S. & S.): “artful meditation on memory and identity.” Bonnie by Christina Schwarz (Atria Books: S. & S.): “a vivid storyteller, but keeps a polite distance from the darker impulses that shaped Parker’s life.” 22 Minutes of Unconditional Love by Daphne Merkin (FSG: Macmillan): “an arresting novel that explores the alchemy of contradictions that exist in all great works of literature.” Cool for America: Stories by Andrew Martin (FSG: Macmillan): “You feel Martin is going somewhere, and the prospect is tantalizing.” The Son of Good Fortune by Lysley Tenorio (Ecco: Harper): “an affecting portrayal of just how potently a parent can shape the expectations of her child.” Lastly, there is a dual review entitled “What’s Wrong With Men in America?

NPR reviews A Silenced Voice: The Life of Journalist Kim Wall by Ingrid Wall, Joachim Wall, translated by Kathy Saranpa (Amazon Crossing): “incredibly, the book becomes a catalogue of gratitude.”

Entertainment Weekly reviews Want by Lynn Steger Strong (Henry Holt: Macmillan), which gets a B, and The Party Upstairs by Lee Conell (Penguin), which gets a B+. Of the first, EW writes “Strong's unadorned prose aptly captures a certain kind of queasy millennial unease, though its very plainness can also place a pane of glass between her voice and the reader.” Of the latter, “has a keen eye for the grand delusions and small daily hypocrisies of a "classless" America; if her take isn't quite a revelation, it's still brisk, canny fun.”

The Washington Post reviews The Golden Cage by Camilla Läckberg, translated by Neil Smith (Knopf): “the lure … lies in the moral ambiguity of its heroine.” Also, Make Russia Great Again by Christopher Buckley (S. & S.): “an outrageously funny novel equal to the absurdity roiling Washington.”

Briefly Noted

In more forthcoming book news, Subterranean Press has a new work by Tamsyn Muir, Princess Floralinda and the Forty-Flight Tower, “a very dark, very long (nearly 40,000 words) novella.” Only lettered and numbered editions are available at the moment.

The 2019 VIDA Count is out. Tin House, The New York Times Book Review, and Poetry top the lists.

Bustle has books for July. So does Lit Hub.

Tor.com gathers Fantasy titles for July. Also, “Five New Books for Fans of Spaceships, Rockets, and Occasional Explosions.”

Entertainment Weekly has five comics for the month.

The Washington Post picks audiobooks.

WIRED issues its “Ultimate Summer Reading List.”

Amazon releases its accounting of the most books sold to date this year.

Gizmodo has a preview of Skyhunter by Marie Lu (Roaring Brook Press: Macmillan).

The NYT’s Group Text turns to The Beauty in Breaking: A Memoir by Michele Harper (Riverhead: Penguin).

Slate interviews Tracy Sherrod, the editorial director of Amistad, “the oldest U.S. publisher dedicated to multicultural voices.”

Vanity Fair interviews Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, The Heir Affair (Grand Central: Hachette).

Entertainment Weekly talks with Leslye Headland and Alexander Chee as part of its Untold Stories: Pride Edition.

The Cut spotlights the writer and activist Raquel Willis.

USA Today features Memoirs and Misinformation by Jim Carrey and Dana Vachon (Knopf). 

The NYT has an opinion piece by Lacy Crawford, Notes on a Silencing: A Memoir (Little, Brown: Hachette).

Tor.com reports that Dragon Con will be virtual in 2020. Locus has a list of many more events going online, including the RWA and the World Fantasy Convention. On that note, SLJ announces SLJTeen Live! Our Voice, Our Time.

USA Today reports that “Wendell Berry and his wife sued the University of Kentucky on Monday to try to stop the removal of a mural that has been the object of protest for its depictions of Black people and Native Americans. And a Black artist separately added her objections to the removal, saying it would negate her art installation that responds to the mural.”

The Washington Post considers the identity and the work of author Hache Carrillo who died from covid-19.

Author Bettina Gilois has died. Deadline has an obituary.

Authors on Air

Variety reports that the Maurice Sendak Foundation has signed an “overall deal with Apple TV Plus … [for] new projects based on Sendak’s books and illustrations.”

Brad Pitt will star in Bullet Train, an adaptation of the Japanese novel Maria Beetle by Kotaro Isaka. DC’s Stargirl gets a second season on The CW. The book-based The Outpost is doing very well. Lifetime plans an Ann Rule movie weekend, with Sleeping With Danger on August 1 and A Murder to Remember on August 2. Deadline has details on all.

NPR’s All Things Considered interviews J. Courtney Sullivan, Friends and Strangers (Knopf).

It’s Been A Minute interviews Chelsea Handler, Life Will Be the Death of Me : . . . and you too!  (Dial: Random House).

L. Hughley, Surrender, White People!: Our Unconditional Terms for Peace (William Morrow: Harper), will be on with Jimmy Kimmel tonight.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month