'Legacy' by Nora Roberts Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Legacy by Nora Roberts leads holds this week. Four LibraryReads and four Indie Next picks publish this week. The People "Picks" book of the week is The Anthropocene Reviewed: Essays on a Human-Centered Planet by John Green.  Jackie Smith wins 2021 Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize and Alexandra Huynh has been named the new National Youth Poet Laureate. Trisha Yearwood, who will speak at ALA in June, will publish her fourth cookbook, Trisha's Kitchen : Easy Comfort Food for Friends and Family, in September. The Other Black Girl by Zakiya Dalila Harris is poised to break out this summer. Plus, John Steinbeck wrote a werewolf novel and no one is allowed to read it.

 

 

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

 

Big Books of the Week

Legacy by Nora Roberts leads holds this week.

Other titles in demand include:

The Stepsisters by Susan Mallery (Harlequin Mira)

The Saboteurs by Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Shadow Storm by Christine Feehan (Berkley)

Homeland Elegies by Ayad Akhtar (Back Bay Books; LJ starred review)

Dream Spinner by Kristen Ashley (Forever)

These books and others publishing the week of May 24th, 2021 are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet.

 

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

There are four LibraryReads and four Indie Next picks publishing this week.

How To Find a Princess by Alyssa Cole (Avon)

“Billed as a queer retelling of Anastasia, a long-lost princess falls for the investigator who tracks her down. This full-length f/f romance from Cole, the latest in her delightful Runaway Royals series, makes for a fun read.” —Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL

Talk Bookish to Me by Kate Bromley (Graydon House)

"A must-read romance novel, this enemies to lovers contemporary romance has enough tension and sizzle to satisfy any romance reader. Bonus, the lead character is a romance writer and readers get a romance novel within a romance novel. For readers who loved Much Ado About You and The Invitation.” —Hannah Spratt, New York Public Library, New York, NY

The Invisible Husband of Frick Island by Colleen Oakley (Berkley; LJ starred review)

“Anders, a journalist, is sent to Frick Island to cover a Cake Walk, where he meets Piper, a widow who behaves as if her husband had never died. The strangest thing is, the entire island goes along with this delusion, and Anders, who is smitten with Piper, is determined to find out why. For fans of The Story of Arthur Truluv and The Garden of Small Beginnings.”—Aubrey Parker, Montgomery County Memorial Library, Conroe, TX

The Guncle by Steven Rowley (Putnam)

"Gay Uncle Patrick," a reclusive TV star, takes in his niece and nephew for the summer after the death of their mother, his dear friend. As the three navigate their grief together, Patrick finds he needs the kids as much as they need him. By turns funny and poignant, this heartwarming story is great for fans of actor (and Instagram fave) Leslie Jordan and for readers who like Fredrik Backman.” —Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC

There are four Indie Next picks:

The Secret World of Weather: How To Read Signs in Every Cloud, Breeze, Hill, Street, Plant, Animal, and Dewdrop by Tristan Gooley (Experiment)

“I first learned of microclimates when I had to drive from home to work and the weather changed multiple times in those 60 minutes. Gooley writes about weather in an engaging, simple, and eloquent style. Readers will be entertained in a way that makes learning painless and interesting!” —Camille Kovach, Completely Booked, Murrysville, PA

The Photographer by Mary Dixie Carter (Minotaur: St. Martin’s)

“Mary Dixie Carter’s debut is standout psychological suspense! With excellent pacing and a completely addictive style, The Photographer is exactly the kind of book you want to read in one sitting. This is a sneaky and unsettling read that’ll leave you guessing from start to finish.” —Becky LeJeune, BookBar, Denver, CO

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury)

“What a strange, unputdownable book. The Kingdoms weaves characters freed from time and space and memory, rebuilding our world as we know it and inviting us into a delicious story of love and loss.” —Hannah Oxley, Mystery to Me, Madison, WI

Heaven by Mieko Kawakami, translated by Sam Bett & David Boyd (Europa: Macmillan)

“I loved this book. Its portrayal of bullying is moving and intelligent. Kawakami gives us characters who speak to the heart and illustrate in one form or another the dilemma facing everyone in adolescence. Hopeful but chilling in equal measures.”—Don Luckham, The Toadstool Bookshop, Keene, NH

 

In the Media

The People "Picks" book of the week is The Anthropocene Reviewed: Essays on a Human-Centered Planet by John Green (Dutton; LJ starred review). Also getting attention are The Guncle by Steven Rowley (Putnam) and Cheat Day by Liv Stratman (Scribner). “New in Paperbacks” feature Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell (Knopf), Saint by Alexis Schaitkin (Celadon), and It Had To Be You by Georgia Clark (Emily Bestler: Atria). The “Audio Pick” is Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica (Park Row: Harlequin) with ensemble narration.

There is a feature that explores the unbreakable bond between Elizabeth Taylor and Montgomery Clift, the subject of Elizabeth and Monty: The Untold Story of Their Intimate Friendship by Charles Casillo (Kensington) and a profile of Trisha Yearwood, whose fourth cookbook, Trisha's Kitchen : Easy Comfort Food for Friends and Family (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) will publish in September.

The “Summer TV Preview” spotlights Marvel Studio’s Loki, with associated titles on Disney+, Sex/Life (Netflix) based on the book 44 Chapters About 4 Men by BB Easton (Forever), Bosch (Amazon Prime Video), based on the series by Michael Connelly, and The Walking Dead, based on the comics by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore, and Charlie Adlard (AMC). Plus, the “Picks” section highlights Army of the Dead, based on a story by Zack Snyder(Netflix) and The Dry, based on a book by Jane Harper (VOD).

 

Reviews

NPR reviews Evolution Gone Wrong : The Curious Reasons Why Our Bodies Work (Or Don't) by Alex Bezzerides (Hanover Square Press): “I recommend Evolution Gone Wrong highly to anyone wishing to grasp the mix of biological and cultural forces at work on our anatomy today.” Also, NPR reviews three romances this week.

The NYT reviews Hollywood Eden: Electric Guitars, Fast Cars, and the Myth of the California Paradise by Joel Selvin (House of Anansi): “Songs about surfboards and convertibles had turned quaint, but in this book, their coolness is restored.” Plus, there are reviews of four new crime novels and four new military histories. “Books of the Times” considers Languages of Truth: Essays 2003–2020 by Salman Rushdie (Random; LJ starred review): “If his arguments about the state of fiction in “Languages of Truth” don’t convince, at least they’re genuine signs of life.” The Guardian also reviews: “a collection of Salman Rushdie’s 21st-century nonfiction ought to be a treasure trove, but it feels more like watching someone rooting around down the back of the sofa for loose change.”

The Washington Post reviews bestseller Project: Hail Mary by Andy Weir (Ballantine): “the book could have been so much better. Its central tension — will Grace figure things out? — should have been based on a real problem, instead of a series of incidents that could have been solved with checklists and simple common sense.” And, Chasing the Thrill: Obsession, Death, and Glory in America’s Most Extraordinary Treasure Hunt by Daniel Barbarisi (Knopf): “Barbarisi tells the story so well that you should resist any form of peeking ahead and leave the matter in his capable hands.”

Briefly Noted

USA Today picks five books for the week.

CrimeReads suggests 10 books out this week.

The LJ November 2021 Prepub Alert: The Complete List is out now, including a link to all the November posts in a single PDF.

Jackie Smith wins 2021 Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize for her translation of Judith Schalansky's novel An Inventory of Losses (New Directions).

Alexandra Huynh has been named the new National Youth Poet Laureate, USA Today reports.

The NYT features Zakiya Dalila Harris on the origins of her debut novel, The Other Black Girl (Atria) and how it's set to be a summer breakout.  

People interviews Destiny’s Child alum Michelle Williams about mental health and her new book, Checking In : How Getting Real about Depression Saved My Life---and Can Save Yours (Thomas Nelson).

FoxNews carries a feature on the biography Lucille Ball & Desi Arnaz: They Weren’t Lucy & Ricky Ricardo by Danforth Price (Magnolia House).

John Steinbeck wrote a werewolf novel. The Guardian reports on one academic’s campaign to convince the Steinbeck estate to finally publish it. Plus, Slate takes things a bit further by commissioning AI to simulate what it might look like.

Vulture has an excerpt of The Housewives by Brian Moylan (Flatiron).

The Atlantic’s “Books Briefing” unpacks the “wellness dystopia” with works that explore health and consumerism. 

T&C has “7 books to read after watching Halston.”

The LA Times has “four chilling debut thrillers for your summer reading list.”

Vulture has “The Best Books, Podcasts, and Documentaries About Cults.”

Authors on Air

NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday interviews David Yoon about his new novel, Version Zero (G.P. Putnam’s Sons) and “resetting the Internet.”

NPR interviews Laura Khoudari, author of memoir and practical guide, Lifting Heavy Things : Healing Trauma One Rep at a Time, about trauma and healing.

NPR’s Politics Podcast Book Club interviews Alec MacGillis, author of the May discussion pick Fulfillment: Winning and Losing in One-Click America (FSG: Macmillan). The June selection will be America on Fire: The Untold History of Police Violence and Black Rebellion Since the 1960s by Elizabeth Hinton (Liveright: Norton: LJ starred review).

Casey Wilson, The Wreckage of My Presence (Harper) will be on Late Night with Seth Meyers tonight.

 

 

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?