Indigenous Voices Awards and Kobo Emerging Writer Awards Announced | Book Pulse

The 2021 winners for the Indigenous Voices Awards are announced. Eternity Martis, Michelle Good, and Emily Hepditch win the $10K Kobo Emerging Writer Prizes. The 2021 Hugo Administration Team has resigned. New read-alikes for Dream Girl by Laura Lippman arrive. Interviews with Todd and Brooke Tilghman, Kazuo Ishiguro, Quiara Alegría Hudes, Nina LaCour, Emma Dabiri, Krys Malcolm Belc, Brandon Taylor, Bridget Morrissey, Craig Melvin, Kelsey McKinney, and Rajiv Mohabir are out. A new Octavia Butler biography is in the works and the NYPL shares resources on the author's life, legacy, and “significant contributions to the literary landscape.”  

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Awards & News

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eternity Martis, Michelle Good and Emily Hepditch win $10K Kobo Emerging Writer Prizes, CBC has the story.

Nathan Adler, Bevann Fox and jaye simpson are among the 2021 winners for the Indigenous Voices Awards. CBC reports.

The 2021 Hugo Administration Team has resigned, reports Locus. A statement was released on Twitter.

Reviews

The LA Times reviews Songs in Ursa Major by Emma Brodie (Knopf; LJ starred review): “There’s something about Ursa Major that suggests a mythology, a hero’s journey in which the hero is a woman with immense musical gifts and the music business is a beast to overcome and master.”

The NYT reviews Skye Falling by Mia McKenzie (Random House): “The shining star of the novel, what hooked me in the first few pages and what carries the story along, is McKenzie’s impeccable comedic eye.” Also, Songbooks: The Literature of American Popular Music by Eric Weisbard (Duke Univ.): “reads like arch and jaded endnotes to a book that doesn’t exist — and, as most writers know, endnotes are an excellent place to hide a joke or a put-down. This book is replete with the latter.”

The Washington Post reviews One Two Three by Laurie Frankel (Holt): “tells a more complicated story than its title implies, all the while reminding us that big changes can be made through small steps.”

NPR reviews The Woman They Could Not Silence: One Woman, Her Incredible Fight for Freedom, and the Men Who Tried To Make Her Disappear by Kate Moore (Sourcebooks; LJ starred review): “The book illustrates the particularly skewed incentives of inspirational biographies — to flatter, flatten, and portray someone in line with the presumed values of its values.” Also, Questland by Carrie Vaughn (John Joseph Adams/Mariner Books): “Vaughn's novel is not just a tribute to its many beloved influences; it's her love letter to the very human and universal need for fandom itself, no matter what it is that we stan.”

Briefly Noted

LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for the buzziest book of the weekDream Girl by Laura Lippman (Morrow; LJ starred review).

People talks with Todd and Brooke Tilghman about their new memoir Every Little Win: How Celebrating Small Victories Can Lead to Big Joy (Thomas Nelson).

The Washington Post has an interview with Kazuo Ishiguro, Klara and the Sun (Knopf: Random House; LJ starred review), about “the Nobel, parenthood, how he managed to stay afloat during the pandemic.”

HipLatina speaks with Quiara Alegría Hudes about her new memoir My Broken Language: A Memoir (One World; LJ starred review), In the Heights, and “how we need to be our ‘own librarians’.”

The San Francisco Chronicle interviews Nina LaCour on how she “escaped into words during the pandemic.”  Her first adult novel, Yerba Buena (Flatiron), will publish in February, 2022.

Time speaks with Emma Dabiri about What White People Can Do Next: From Allyship to Coalition (Harper Perennial) and the thinkers that have inspired her work.

The Rumpus has a Q&As with Krys Malcolm Belc, about family, body, and the hopefulness of his new memoirThe Natural Mother of the Child: A Memoir of Nonbinary Parenthood by (Counterpoint) and with Brandon Taylor about Filthy Animals (Riverhead), the “complications of desire, the comforts of sadness, and being fair to your characters.”

Shondaland has interviews with YA author Bridget Morrissey about acting culture and her adult debut, Love Scenes (Berkley) and with Craig Melvin about fatherhood, forgiveness, and Pops: Learning to be a Son and a Father (William Morrow: HarperCollins).

ElectricLit speaks with Kelsey McKinney, God Spare the Girls (William Morrow: HarperCollins), on “what it means to be a young woman grappling with white Evangelical Christianity.” Also, a conversation with poet Rajiv Mohabir, Antiman: A Hybrid Memoir (Restless Books) on “ancestral trauma and the ghosts created by diasporic communities.”

The LA Times has a profile on Quinta BrunsonShe Memes Well (Houghton Harcourt).

Good Morning America’s “Who is making LGBTQ+ history right now: GMA Inspiration List 2021” is out now, featuring nominations by RuPaul, Melissa Etheridge, Todrick Hall, Bobby Berk and more.

USA Today has a photo feature of LGBTQ heroes featured in The Queer Bible edited by Jack Guinness (Dey Street Books).

Autostraddle highlights Bang!: Masturbation for People of All Genders by Vic Liu (Microcosm Publishing), calling it “the Rare Sex Ed Book Getting Inclusivity Right.” And, The 2000s Made Me Gay: Essays on Pop Culture by Grace Perry (St. Martin’s Griffin; LJ starred review), “a Pop Culture Filled Ode to the Queer Millennial Experience.”

Oprah Daily shares an exclusive sneak peak at a new biography of Octavia Butler, Star Child: A Biographical Constellation of Octavia Estelle Butler by Ibi Zoboi (Penguin Random House). Also, The NYPL offers resources on Octavia E. Butler’s life, legacy, and “significant contributions to the literary landscape.” Plus, LitHub shares the author’s “best writing advice” and revisits her chat with Charlie Rose.

Entertainment Weekly has LGBTQ book recommendations from Penny Aimes, Isaac Fitzsimons, Casey McQuiston, and Brian Broome.

BookRiot has “21 of our favorite new LGBTQ books” , “20 must-read Japanese books by women in translation”, and “Decolonizing your bookshelf, the what, the why, and the how.”

AARP has “8 Recent Books Featuring LGBTQ Characters.”

The San Francisco Chronicle shares “Three books make sense of the pandemic.”

CrimeReads releases “The Best New Books Out in Paperback This Month.”

The NYT has “14 New Books Coming in July.”

Authors on Air

NPR’s Fresh Air reviews Light Perpetual by Francis Spufford (Scribner), calling it “a miracle.”

Wired explores the queerness of Marvel’s character Loki, going “far beyond any form of queerness TV has ever seen.”  The Minnesota StarTribune gives an overview of the characters of Loki on Disney+.

Liv Tyler will produce the feature adaptation of Lucca by Jens Christian Grondahl (Canongate). THR has the story.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?