'Hush-Hush' by Stuart Woods Leads Holds This Week | Book Pulse

Hush-Hush by Stuart Woods tops library holds lists this week. More best-of 2020 books lists are out from The Atlantic, HuffPost, and Vogue. Time offers a look at what happens when copyright on The Great Gatsby expires Jan. 1. The Night Agent by Matthew Quirk will be adapted by the creator of The Shield, and a limited series of Sex and the City may be in the works. Plus, remembering author Barry Lopez, who died at age 75.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Big Books of the Week 

Hush-Hush by Stuart Woods (G.P. Putnam's Sons: Penguin) leads holds this week.

Other titles in high demand include:

The Wrong Family by Tarryn Fisher (Graydon House: HarperCollins; LJ starred review) 

The Dark Secret (Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #4): A Graphix Book by Tui T. Sutherland and illustrated by Mike Holmes (Graphix: Scholastic)

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict (Sourcebooks Landmark)

Pretty Little Wife by Darby Kane (William Morrow: HarperCollins)

Wrong Alibi: An Alaskan Mystery by Christina Dodd (HQN: HarperCollins)

These books and others publishing the week of Dec. 28, 2020 are listed in a downloadable spreadsheet. 

Librarians and Booksellers Suggest

There are 6 LibraryReads selections arriving this week:

The Dark Archive by Genevieve Cogman (Ace: Penguin)

"Time-traveling librarian/spy Irene Winters is having a week: dodging assassins, training a Fae intern, and contending with her dragon lover’s meddling brother. Colorful characters, a lightning pace, and a surprising revelation will please fans of Cogman’s Invisible Library series." —Lucy Lockley, St. Charles City County Library, St. Peters, MO

The Wrong Family by Tarryn Fisher (Graydon House: HarperCollins; LJ starred review) 

"The Crouches—Winnie, Nigel, and their teenage son Samuel—are perfect on the outside. In reality, Winnie is controlling, Nigel is tuned out, and confused Samuel is trying to forge his own identity. Juno, a former therapist who has become attracted to the Crouches, gets caught up in their family drama and takes the story in a surprising direction. For fans of Ruth Ware and B. A. Paris." —Connie Laing, Great River Regional Library, St. Cloud, MN

Ten Rules for Faking It by Sophie Sullivan (St. Martin's Griffin: Macmillan)

"Anxious Evelyn becomes a sudden podcast star and the romance she was sure was a one-way street, maybe isn’t anymore. She can’t let her nerves get in the way of happiness. Did I mention that the leading man is completely swoony? For readers who enjoyed The Roommate." —Emily Flynn, Berkeley County Library System, Summerville, SC

Pretty Little Wife by Darby Kane (William Morrow: HarperCollins)

"When Aaron doesn't show up for work and no one hears from him, an unofficial investigation begins. What secrets is Lila, his beautiful wife, keeping? The more the police discover, the more questions they have. A thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Last Mrs. Parrish." —Chris Markley, Kingsport Public Library, Kingsport, TN

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg (Park Row: HarperCollins)

"Marion is a new recruit of a detective agency that works undercover and under the streets of London. When she gets involved in investigating the death of one of their own agents, she is not sure who she can trust, or what forces are working against her.This is a great start to a new series that is perfect for Agatha Christie and Harry Potter fans alike.” —Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict (Sourcebooks Landmark)

"Taking the 11 days that Agatha Christie went missing in the 1920s and adding a fictional twist, Benedict produces this gem of a historical novel with psychological thriller overtones. This novel appeals on so many levels; there is much to love and discuss here." —Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

It is also an Indie Next choice:

"A delightful novel! While we will never know what happened to Agatha Christie during her 1926 disappearance, Marie Benedict has provided us with a compelling possibility. Keeping the reader guessing until the end, this is historical fiction that everyone is going to love!" —Stefanie Lynn, The Kennett Bookhouse, Kennett Square, PA

There are no additional titles on the Indie Next list coming out this week.

In the Media

People "Picks" takes a look at the year's best books for kids, including Before the Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen: Penguin), The Silver Arrow by Lev Grossman (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers), and I Talk Like a River by Jordan Scott (Neal Porter: Penguin), among others. Also included in this week's "Picks" is Wonder Woman 1984, which has associated titles. A Cat's Tale: A Journey Through Feline History by Dr. Paul Koudounaris (Henry Holt: Macmillan) is highlighted as part of "Stories to Make You Smile." Coverage in the TV preview section includes Batwoman, Superman and Lois, and American Gods.

Reviews

The Washington Post reviews Bedeviled: A Shadow History of Demons in Science by Jimena Canales (Princeton): "'Bedeviled' admirably insists on recording the plain history of science. It just so happens that the history of that most rational of human endeavors reads at times like a Gothic tale, one replete with evil geniuses, time travelers and uncanny intelligences lurking in reality’s obscure corners." Also, Strongmen: Mussolini to the Present by Ruth Ben-Ghiat (W. W. Norton): "She has a gift for bringing together details that are both poignant and startling, laying them out with particular aplomb when delving into the orgiastic misdirection of funds into authoritarian coffers." I Came as a Shadow: An Autobiography by John Thompson with Jesse Washington (Henry Holt: Macmillan): "This superb book, done with Jesse Washington, a writer for ESPN’s the Undefeated, has been eagerly awaited for years."

The L.A. Times reviews The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict (Sourcebooks Landmark): "The denouement promises suspense, and a murder, though not necessarily adhering to the rules of fair play for which some mystery aficionados revere Christie herself." Also, In League with Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon edited by Leslie S. Klinger and Laurie R. King (Pegasus: S. & S.): "Just as all of the writers involved have their own takes on Holmes, so will anyone who picks up this book."

The NYT reviews Conservatism: The Fight for a Tradition by Edmund Fawcett (Princeton): "It’s a tour de force of intellectual eclecticism, and a vital recognition that the war within conservatism matters." Plus, brief reviews of recent crime fiction.

Briefly Noted

The Atlantic selects the "15 Best Books of 2020."

HuffPost lists the year's best books.

Vogue editors pick their favorite books of the year, and look ahead at the best to come in the new year.

The Star Tribune chooses the best audiobooks of the year.

The Guardian previews 2021 books of fiction and nonfiction.

The NYT recommends 8 recent releases, 13 books publishing in January, as well as forthcoming international titles.

CrimeReads looks at 10 new books out this week.

Time lists the best new books coming in January.

The Washington Post offers "What to read in 2021 based on what you loved in 2020."

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi (Knopf; LJ starred review) is the BuzzFeed Book Club's January pick.

Cheryl Strayed and Ken Follett share their favorite books of the year with Amazon.

Malinda Lo discusses Last Night at the Telegraph Club (Dutton Books for Young Readers) with Lambda Literary.

Entertainment Weekly interviews David Mitchell, Utopia Avenue (Random House).

The NYT's "Inside the List" column features Aimee Nezhukumatathil, World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments (Milkweed Editions). Ijeoma Oluo, Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America (Seal: Hachette: LJ starred review), answers its "By the Book" questions

Elle's "Shelf Life" column features Tana French.

The Rumpus Book Club talks with Mattilda Bernstein Sycamore, The Freezer Door (Semiotext(e): MIT).

Electric Lit reminds us: "It’s Okay If You Didn’t Read This Year."

The Book Industry Study Group outlines recent updates to BISAC subject headings.

"Piracy is a perpetual challenge that affects every kind of creative work: it does not happen by accident and it inflicts serious economic harm on the legitimate interests of copyright owners and lawful markets for creative works," Maria A Pallante, president of the Association of American Publishers, told The Bookseller about the Protecting Lawful Streaming Act.

The Authors Guild writes in support of the draft legislation of the Digital Copyright Act of 2021

What happens when copyright on The Great Gatsby expires Jan. 1? Time takes a look. The Center for the Study of Public Domain at Duke has information about other works entering the public domain in the new year.

Some predictions about books to come on the Trump presidency via the NYT.

Anthony Veasna So's last essay is "A Year in Reading" for The Millions, for which his partner Alex Torres provides an introduction.

Art historian and critic Barbara Rose has died. The NYT has an obituary.

Author Barry Lopez has died at age 75. See memorials at NPR, the Associated Press, and Lit Hub.

Authors on Air

The Maris Review podcast interviews Maggie Smith, Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change (Atria/One Signal).

Kwame Alexander talks with the First Draft podcast about Light for the World to See: A Thousand Words on Race and Hope (HMH).

The Emergence Magazine podcast chats with Robin Wall Kimmerer about Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants (Milkweed).

The Quarantine Tapes podcast features Kiese Laymon, How to Slowly Kill Yourself and Others in America (Agate Bolden: Ingram; LJ starred review).

Karma Brown discusses Recipe for a Perfect Wife (Dutton: Penguin; LJ starred review) with the CBC's The Next Chapter. Also, Marianne Boucher on her graphic novel Talking to Strangers: A Memoir of My Escape from a Cult (Doubleday Canada).

Poet torrin a. greathouse discusses Wound from the Mouth of a Wound (Milkweed) with NPR's Morning Edition.

NPR's Weekend Edition Sunday recommends four recent romance books

CBS Sunday Morning's best-of 2020 culture segment includes a look at the top books of the year.

The Night Agent by Matthew Quirk will be adapted by the creator of The Shield. A limited series of Sex and the City, based on the book by Candace Bushnell, may be in the works at HBO Max. Deadline reports.

Want to get the latest book news delivered to your inbox each day? Sign up for our daily Book Pulse newsletter.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?