ALA Presidential Candidates, New Register of Copyrights, Fresh Leadership in Cuyahoga, and More Library People News

ALA 2022–23 Presidential candidates include Stacey A. Aldrich, Ed Garcia, and Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada; Shira Perlmutter has been selected as the 14th Register of Copyrights; Cuyahoga County Public Library announced the appointments of Pamela Jankowski, Scott Morgan, and Monique Good; and more library people news for October 26, 2020.

Stacey A. Aldrich, State Librarian of the Hawaii State Public Library System, Honolulu; Ed Garcia, Director of Cranston Public Library, RI; and Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Adult Services Assistant Manager of Palos Verdes Library District, CA, are the candidates for the 2022–23 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).

Shira Perlmutter head shotShira Perlmutter has been selected by Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden as the 14th Register of Copyrights. Perlmutter has served since 2012 as Chief Policy Officer and Director for International Affairs at the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Maria Strong, who has served as acting Register since January, will return to her role as Associate Register of Copyrights for Policy and International Affairs.

Cuyahoga County Public Library (CCPL), OH, has announced the appointments of Pamela Jankowski, most recently CCPL Literacy and Learning Division Director, as Deputy Director for Public Services; Scott Morgan, previously CCPL Operations Director and Chief Fiscal Officer, as Deputy Director for Support Services; and Monique Good, previously Labor and Employee Relations Specialist for the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, as Human Resources Director.

Miguel Figueroa, most recently Director of ALA’s Center for the Future of Libraries, has been selected as President and Chief Executive Officer of Amigos Library Services. He succeeds Alan Kornblau.Miguel Figueroa head shot

Former LJ and SLJ Director of Content Strategy and Audience Development Guy LeCharles Gonzalez will be leaving his role as Project Lead for the cross-industry data initiative Panorama Project to join digital content provider LibraryPass as Chief Content Officer. Daniel Albohn, who previously led Global Business Development for Sony for 18 years, will succeed Gonzalez at the Panorama Project.

Faye A. Chadwell, the Donald and Delpha Campbell University Librarian at Oregon State University, has been selected to serve as Dean of University Libraries and Scholarly Communications at Penn State University, University Park, PA, effective March 21, 2021. Chadwell will succeed Barbara Dewey, who has extended her retirement to the end of December.

International Management and Operations Specialist Cary Cooper has been appointed as the new CEO of library technology provider D-Tech International USA, taking over day-to-day management and operations from founder Marvin Crisp, who will continue in his role as President.

Sanyu Dillon head shotSanyu Dillon, previously EVP, Director of Marketing Strategy and Consumer Engagement of Penguin Random House, has been promoted to Chief Marketing Officer; Dillon will also serve on the publisher’s U.S. board.

The DeKalb County History Center, IL, has named Rob Glover, previously Executive Director of the Glidden Homestead, as the new Director of the Joiner History Room, where he will serve as an Archivist and Collection Specialist at the history center.

Fort Hays State University has appointed Leslie Haas, previously Head of the Research Services Department for Georgia Southern University Libraries, as the new Dean of Library Services, effective this November.

Claire Kelley, previously Director of Marketing and Publicity for Shambhala Publications imprint Roost Books, has joined Seven Stories Press as Director of Library and Academic Marketing.

The Cleveland Public Library named John Lang, formerly Director of Construction at Cuyahoga Community College, OH, as its new Chief Operating Officer as of October 12. He replaces Jeremiah Swetel.

Jennifer Russell, most recently Assistant Director at the Esopus Library, NY, has been hired as the new Director of the Saugerties Public Library, NY.

After working within the Yale University Library system for more than 30 years and serving as the director of the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library for 10, Edwin (E.C.) Schroeder will retire Aug. 31, 2021.

The Library of Congress has appointed Deborah Thomas as Chief of the Serial and Government Publications Division. She has served as Acting Chief of the division since December 2019.



David Jan Gale, Vice President and Editorial Director of the Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers imprint, died on October 9 at the age of 65.

K. Wayne Smith, former President and CEO of OCLC from 1989–98 and Trustee of Wake Forest University, NC, died on October 16 at the age of 82.

Author Image
Lisa Peet

Lisa Peet is News Editor for Library Journal.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing