Szalay, David

4 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Turbulence

The novel’s global range is impressive and the interconnected stories and overall tone will appeal to readers who enjoyed Lisa Halliday’s Asymmetry and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad. [See Prepub Alert, 1/23/19.]

PREMIUM

London and the South-East

Watch for many twists and turns in this fiendishly plotted page-turner, the first novel, finally issued here, by the author of the Man Booker short-listed All That Man Is. [See Prepub Alert, 4/10/17.]
PREMIUM

All That Man Is

Warning: this collection privileges believability over likability, so those who want lovable characters may be disappointed. This would be a good choice for book clubs as readers won't find well-developed female characters and can discuss the lack of female representation.
PREMIUM

Spring

This novel may offer an accurate depiction of a contemporary relationship, in which nothing happens and no one can articulate what he or she wants, but it doesn't make for absorbing reading. Szalay's fine writing and flashes of insight can't rescue this novel from its insipid, tiresome, and self-absorbed characters.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.