Sue O'Brien

82 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times

An inspiring, personal, hopeful look at ways in which people can work towards solutions to serious problems to prevent further environmental disaster. This book will appeal to Goodall’s many fans, conservationists, and anyone who cares about the planet and needs a dose of hope.
PREMIUM

Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship

A beautiful exploration of a human/wild animal relationship that intertwines Raven’s musings about her past, present, and future into a mostly factual, at times imagined, whole that will appeal to readers who enjoy natural history essays, memoirs, foxes, the American West, or stories about women discovering themselves.
PREMIUM

Guardians of the Trees: A Journey of Hope Through Healing the Planet

A compelling science memoir that will be relished by those who enjoy reading about innovative efforts to save imperiled habitats.
PREMIUM

Still Alive: A Wild Life of Rediscovery

Galante is an enthusiastic narrator whose excitement for discovery and passion for conservation will immerse readers in his journeys to a variety of places and habitats. Science lovers and armchair travelers who enjoy science memoirs or books on conservation will relish this story.
PREMIUM

Into the Deep: A Memoir from the Man Who Found Titanic

This exciting memoir, recounted by a wonderful storyteller, will be relished by readers who enjoy adventure, oceanography, underwater archaeology, and scientific discovery. Ballard’s latest account will appeal to a great many readers.

PREMIUM

Extraordinary Orchids

Orchid fanciers will relish the gorgeous color plates; readers new to orchids will appreciate the information on orchid biology, culture, and history.
PREMIUM

Animals’ Best Friends: Putting Compassion to Work for Animals in Captivity and in the Wild

This interesting work is often troubling to read, yet it’s important in showing how people can compassionately care for the animals that share out planet. It will especially appeal to animal rights activists and readers who enjoyed Carl Safina’s Beyond Words: What Animals Think and Feel.
PREMIUM

The Loneliest Polar Bear: A True Story of Survival and Peril on the Edge of a Warming World

While there are some confusing segues, overall, this is an absorbing, extensively researched book for fans of popular science and those who appreciate stories about polar bears, both captive and wild, as well as behind-the-scenes work at zoos. Readers interested in learning more about polar bears and their changing habitats should also try James Raffan’s Ice Walker (2019).
PREMIUM

Humphry Repton: Landscape Design in an Age of Revolution

Richly illustrated with examples from Repton’s Red Books and concluding with extensive references and a bibliography, this volume sets Repton and his work firmly in the life and times of the late 1700s–early 1800s in a book that will appeal to those who enjoy reading about garden designers of the past, or garden history.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?