Stacy Alesi

32 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Just Get Home

A natural disaster is a terrifying backdrop for this briskly paced yet emotional novel, and readers will be hard-pressed to put the book down before reaching its satisfying ending. This title will appeal to readers who enjoyed The River at Night, by Erica Ferencik, or One by One, by Ruth Ware.
PREMIUM

Are We There Yet?

First-world problems abound in this Midwestern family drama, but West makes the most of her material. For readers who enjoyed Bruce Holsinger’s The Gifted School, Lauren Weisberger’s When Life Gives You Lululemons, and Laura Zigman’s Separation Anxiety.

The Push

For readers who enjoyed the darkness of Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister, the Serial Killer, Ottessa Moshfegh’s Eileen, or Joyce Carol Oates’s Jack of Spades.
PREMIUM

The Midnight Library

Haig (How To Stop Time) takes readers on a journey of quantum physics that will have them feeling that they actually understand the theory. Most reminiscent of Ken Grimwood’s Replay.
PREMIUM

Three Single Wives

This winning combination of family drama, women’s friendships, and courtroom intrigue should appeal to Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty fans..
PREMIUM

All the Broken People

The main protagonist is an unreliable narrator, but then all the characters are unreliable, making this a fast-paced, unputdownable roller-coaster of a read sure to appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins.
PREMIUM

A Star Is Bored

A peek inside the wacky life of beloved Hollywood royalty, this debut novel should have wide appeal. Read-alikes include Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada and Joyce Carol Oates’s Blonde.
PREMIUM

Ask Me Anything

Paranoia about smart appliances spying on us is a real thing, and this book feeds into that fear, albeit in a rakish, humorous way, but unfortunately, the human characters don’t quite come to life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lending Library

This debut novel shows some promise and should appeal to librarians and book lovers everywhere. Read-alikes include Karen Hawkins’s The Book Charmer and Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?