Stacy Alesi

28 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Three Single Wives

This winning combination of family drama, women’s friendships, and courtroom intrigue should appeal to Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty fans..
PREMIUM

All the Broken People

The main protagonist is an unreliable narrator, but then all the characters are unreliable, making this a fast-paced, unputdownable roller-coaster of a read sure to appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins.
PREMIUM

A Star Is Bored

A peek inside the wacky life of beloved Hollywood royalty, this debut novel should have wide appeal. Read-alikes include Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada and Joyce Carol Oates’s Blonde.
PREMIUM

Ask Me Anything

Paranoia about smart appliances spying on us is a real thing, and this book feeds into that fear, albeit in a rakish, humorous way, but unfortunately, the human characters don’t quite come to life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lending Library

This debut novel shows some promise and should appeal to librarians and book lovers everywhere. Read-alikes include Karen Hawkins’s The Book Charmer and Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner.
PREMIUM

On Ocean Boulevard

This is an excellent addition to a popular series by a best-selling author. Readers of Mary Kay Andrews and Dorothea Benton Frank should feel at home here as well. [See Prepub Alert, 11/11/19.]
PREMIUM

The Sweeney Sisters

It’s been a while since Dolan’s last novel, Elizabeth the First Wife, but this humorous, heartfelt family story is worth the wait. Will appeal to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]
PREMIUM

Separation Anxiety

Readers who enjoyed Maria Semple’s far superior Where’d You Go, Bernadette or Linda Holmes’s Evvie Drake Starts Over may enjoy this, but it is not Zigman’s best effort. She is a popular writer, though, so buy for demand only. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]
PREMIUM

Wife After Wife

This story will resonate with readers, even those less familiar with British royal history. For fans of updated Jane Austen books, such as Soniah Kamal’s Unmarriageable and Curtis Sittenfeld’s Eligible, and those who are ready to branch out.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month