Sierra Dickey

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Migrating to Prison: America’s Obsession with Locking Up Immigrants

A thought-provoking perspective on immigration and U.S. immigration policy.
PREMIUM

Fantasy Island: Colonialism, Exploitation, and the Betrayal of Puerto Rico

This book will be particularly important to readers with a connection to Puerto Rico and useful and thought-provoking to anyone else seeking to understand capitalism’s past, present, and future.

Banned: Immigration Enforcement in the Time of Trump

This meticulously argued work succeeds in illuminating with plain language what the immigration system obscures behind jargon and steel bars.

The Natural Laws of Children: Why Children Thrive When We Understand How Their Brains Are Wired

An indispensable resource for teachers and parents alike, this highly readable book offers strategies, anecdotes, and evidence without downplaying the complexity of the cognitive science that informs it.

PREMIUM

Knitting the Fog

YA readers might connect particularly well with Hernández’s voice. For fans of Ocean Vuong, Junot Diaz, and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.