Philip Shackelford

15 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Six Days in August: The Story of Stockholm Syndrome

Engrossing, well researched, and tailor-made for true crime enthusiasts.
PREMIUM

The Golden Thread: The Cold War and the Mysterious Death of Dag Hammarskjöld

Fans of novelists such as Tom Clancy and Robert Ludlum, as well as military history and true crime enthusiasts, will find much to enjoy about this riveting read.
PREMIUM

Atomic Spy: The Dark Lives of Klaus Fuchs

Thoroughly supported by a wide array of archival research, Greenspan’s detailed and authoritative yet equally interesting and readable study will appeal to readers of World War II and Cold War history, espionage, and nuclear history.
PREMIUM

Hollywood Double Agent: The True Tale of Boris Morros, Film Producer Turned Cold War Spy

Gill’s captivating, fast-paced narrative reads like a thriller and will leave readers wanting more. Highly recommended for those who love stories of espionage.
PREMIUM

Someone Is Out To Get Us: A Not So Brief History of Cold War Paranoia and Madness

All told, Brown delivers a tantalizing, stranger-than-fiction collection guaranteed to entertain. For fans of the History Channel and similar historical adventures.
PREMIUM

The Bomb: Presidents, Generals, and the Secret History of Nuclear War

Overall, a well-written and compulsively readable account that will keep military history and Cold War buffs up past their bedtime.
PREMIUM

A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Ingenious Young Women Whose Secret Board Game Helped Win World War II

Vibrant and readable, recommended for anyone interested in the history of World War II, women in the military, naval history, and military history.
PREMIUM

North of Havana: The Untold Story of Dirty Politics, Secret Diplomacy, and the Trial of the Cuban Five

This is a quick and vivid read, brimming with political intrigue and lessons about what can happen when law and public opinion are used for political ends.

PREMIUM

Black Site: The CIA in the Post-9/11 World

Recommended as an inside look into an unsavory yet complex period of American political history.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month