Nicole R. Steeves

14 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Watt O’Hugh and the Innocent Dead: Being the Third Part of the Strange and Astounding Memoirs of Watt O’Hugh the Third

Genre mashup devotees should get some good laughs and thrills from this Western/adventure/sf/fantasy blend. Fans of Doctor Who may adapt easily to the timey-wimeyness, and readers of Richard Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series who long for more atypical excursions to hell will enjoy as well.
PREMIUM

The Dark Above

Fans of Justin Cronin’s The Passage, TV’s Stranger Things, and all versions of Stephen King’s IT will want to sit under summertime stars to binge this quick read. Any teen or adult fan of sf thrillers will enjoy this story, although they may want to read the first installment before jumping in.
PREMIUM

The Core of the Sun

The plot points on reproduction will inevitably bring Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale to mind, but the narrator's funny, sad, punk voice could fit right in to the stories in Kelly Link's Get in Trouble and is as unforgettable.
PREMIUM

Jimmy Bluefeather

Fans of Jon Krakauer's Into the Wild or Cheryl Strayed's Wild are bound to enjoy this book, as will readers interested in Native Americans or small-town, character-driven, family stories.
PREMIUM

The Precipice

Bowditch is an uncomplicated good guy who might even be considered boring except for the lively conversations on topics as diverse as atheism, sexuality, and animal rights. This unexpected thoughtfulness makes his character appealing enough for readers to cheer him on. Doiron offers backstory for new readers, while fans of outdoorsy mysteries and Daniel Woodrell will enjoy seeing another aspect of backwoods law and order. [See Prepub Alert, 12/15/14.]
PREMIUM

The Doors You Mark Are Your Own

Robert Heinlein's Starship Troopers imagined vital female military leaders in a postapocalyptic world over 50 years ago; the unimpressive, ineffectual girlfriends and shrews here are a letdown and diminish the otherwise creative story and accessible philosophizing.
PREMIUM

Mademoiselle Chanel

Historical fiction readers looking for insight into World War II Paris should try Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosnay, and nonfiction readers will get more nuanced insight from Ronald C. Rosbottom's When Paris Went Dark. [See Prepub Alert, 9/22/14.]
PREMIUM

Epitaph: A Novel of the O.K. Corral

The multitude of points of view exemplifies the best of third-person omniscience, revealing innermost secrets, hopes, and fears. Readers of Lyndsay Faye's Gods of Gotham are sure to enjoy this novel, and fans of Westerns ready to branch out beyond Louis L'Amour and Max Brand might see it as a breath of fresh air.
PREMIUM

Butterfly Skin

Fans of serial killer thrillers and of Russian novels in translation will find a lot to love, if they have a strong stomach.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month