Nanette Donohue

811 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

China Room

In descriptive but never flowery prose, Sahota (The Year of the Runaways) intersects the two stories in clever and unexpected ways, reminding readers how they are connected to those who came before. Readers of literary historical fiction will enjoy this powerful, evocative novel.

Count the Ways

Historical events and popular culture of the 1970s and 1980s are thoughtfully contrasted with intimate details of Eleanor’s life, from the joys of early marriage to the travails of motherhood. Readers will sink into Maynard’s masterful portrait of one woman’s life in this decades-spanning family saga.
PREMIUM

How Art Heals: Exploring Your Deep Feelings Using Collage

This isn’t a traditional “how-to” book; readers looking for explicit instructions for collage-making will be better served by Roxanne Evans Stout’s Storytelling with Collage. However, it will inspire readers interested in the ways artists use the creative process as a means for healing.

PREMIUM

That Summer

Weiner’s ability to take a complex, painful situation and spin it into an engaging, thoughtful story about women’s inner lives is showcased throughout this novel. The beautiful beachside settings and aspirational lifestyles that women’s fiction readers gravitate toward are on full display, but the depth of the story is what shines. A likely summer blockbuster, this will have readers looking forward to the third volume in trilogy.

PREMIUM

When in Vanuatu

The abrupt ending, which focuses on tying up loose ends, doesn’t match the languid pacing of the rest of the novel, but it is a satisfying resolution. This intimate and deeply personal story will appeal to readers who enjoy emotionally potent, descriptive stories about women’s inner lives.
PREMIUM

Serena Singh Flips the Script

Lalli’s latest (after Grown-Up Pose) has the story arc and the tropes of a romantic comedy, but it’s the happy-ever-after of friendship that makes it sparkle. Serena’s honesty and vulnerability will resonate with readers of Christina Lauren and Alisha Rai.

The Sleeping Nymph

This engrossing mystery blends psychological tension with exceptional detective work and features flawed yet appealing characters whose dogged pursuit of the murderer keeps them from focusing too closely on their personal struggles. All this, combined with Oklap’s fluid translation, make this a solid mystery pick for fans of Jussi Adler-Olsen and Elizabeth George.
PREMIUM

Purple Lotus

This thoughtful, moving novel will appeal to readers who enjoy stories that explore the inner lives of women who are pushing against societal expectations.

Last Tang Standing

The combination of an appealing lead, a glamorous setting, and relatable, funny portrayals of relationships and workplace politics make this debut one of the must-read escapist pleasures of the summer. Fans of Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will be dazzled.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?