Nancy H. Fontaine

39 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Vagablonde

A fresh and empathetic view of how an outwardly privileged life can spiral out of control. Prue’s internal demons struggle with her artistic urges and collide with the fast and furious world of contemporary music, where going viral and staying there are the measures of success. Recommended for readers of contemporary fiction.
PREMIUM

That’s Not a Thing

This new adult story with real-life trials, tragedies, and struggles features bromidic characters who don’t derail a complex plot. Fans of Jojo Moyes and Jennifer Weiner should enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Herd

Surprises and suspense married with themes on the nature of womanhood and sisterhood make this ideal for fans of Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train or Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects. [See Prepub Alert, 8/25/19.]
PREMIUM

Adequate Yearly Progress

This novel provides an entertaining and humane story of what it’s like to teach high school. Already a hit with teachers when it was self-published in 2018, it will appeal to anyone who enjoys humorous workplace narratives.
PREMIUM

Almost Midnight

Though newcomers will be better served by starting at the beginning of the series, fans will be satisfied hearing of Mike's latest exploits.
PREMIUM

Sleepyhead: The Neuroscience of a Good Night's Rest

Anyone living with narcolepsy will be interested in this book, as will those with other sleep disorders. Readers simply curious about the science of sleep should also find it engaging.
PREMIUM

Stay Hidden

After a slow start, Doiron's mystery picks up steam and provides a thrilling read. For fans of the series and other outdoor lawmen mysteries. [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.]
PREMIUM

The Darker the Night, the Brighter the Stars: A Neuropsychologist's Odyssey Through Consciousness

Lyrical, thoughtful, and imaginative, this book presents a disjointed narrative that might have been two different works, one about the author's grief and the other on the nature of consciousness. Those looking for clarity on psychology topics may not be satisfied, but readers of literary essays with a scientific bent will be intrigued.
PREMIUM

Happy Brain: Where Happiness Comes from, and Why

Readers seeking an overview of the current research on happiness, who appreciate British humor should find it enjoyable and enlightening.

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.