Michael Pucci

78 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Winter Grave

A solid purchase for collections in which Nordic noir circulates regularly, though Tursten’s novels aren’t nearly as bleak or as humorless as others in the genre. [See Prepub Alert, 6/3/19.]
PREMIUM

The Memory Police

This vague but haunting dystopia draws overt inspiration from classic surveillance-state novels such as 1984 and Fahrenheit 451, as well as The Diary of Anne Frank, but its quiet horror and magical realism most recalls Han Kang’s The Vegetarian.
PREMIUM

The Need

Is this literary work a story of magical realism, a straight-up horror novel featuring home invaders and shadow-selves, or a product of Molly’s exhausted imagination? Of course, it’s all of the above and makes for an unforgettable—and polarizing
PREMIUM

Theme Music

There's a character in this engaging but somewhat repetitive debut who talks about a "blood bucket," the amount of violence one can take before it tips over. For fans of A.J. Finn's The Woman in the Window with sufficiently large buckets, this twist-filled story will be mostly eagerly welcomed.
PREMIUM

Theme Music

There’s a character in this engaging but somewhat repetitive debut who talks about a “blood bucket,” the amount of violence one can take before it tips over. For fans of A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window with sufficiently large buckets, this twist-filled story will be mostly eagerly welcomed.
PREMIUM

Boomer1

Torday's novel is smart and culturally attuned, but its satirical edge suffers from a split narrative that leaves its protagonist too often a spectator to the movement he created. For fans of Nathan Hill's The Nix and Tony Tulathimutte's Private Citizens. [See Prepub Alert, 3/26/18.]
PREMIUM

Ohio

This bleak but honest survey of 21st-century America is highly recommended for all literary collections. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/18.]
PREMIUM

Tiny Crimes: Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder

Recommended for fans of Akashic Books's long-running and popular geographic "Noir" series.
PREMIUM

Bearskin

This versatile debut is hard to pin down, successfully straddling the line between the evocative erudition of Gabriel Tallent's My Absolute Darling, Tom Franklin's Poachers, and page-turning suspense of C.J. Box. [See Prepub Alert, 12/11/17.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.