Megan M. McArdle   

649 Articles

 
Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
           
PREMIUM

Famous Men Who Never Lived

The plight of refugees gets a sf twist in this enjoyable debut from award-winning short story writer Chess. While the side plots could have been tightened, those looking for character-driven, science-light sf should give this a try.
      
PREMIUM

The Gone World

Describing much more than this simple setup would rob the reader of the trippy experience of navigating the time-travel intricacies of this nail-biting speculative thriller from Sweterlitsch (Tomorrow and Tomorrow). [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]
      
PREMIUM

Olympus Bound

The exciting conclusion to Brodsky's trilogy, which began with The Immortals, has all the lovingly researched details about the Greek pantheon that fans have come to expect. [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]
      

Debuter Maaren Joins Cogman, Hunter, Okorafor, Yolen, & Many More | Sf/Fantasy Reviews

      
PREMIUM

Gluttony Bay

The penultimate novella of the "Sin du Jour" series (after Greedy Pigs) continues Wallace's imaginative romp through New York City restaurants, supernatural diners, and all-out devilish fun.
      
PREMIUM

The Lost Plot

A light, fun series for fans of Gail Carriger and Jodi Taylor.
      
PREMIUM

Glass Town

With a vivid London setting and a tantalizing dose of cinematic history (including Alfred Hitchcock's lost directorial debut), this dark fantasy should appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman.
      
PREMIUM

The Overneath

For fantasy fans, Beagle should be a staple, and while the anthology Mirror Kingdoms: The Best of Peter S. Beagle gathers many of the stories of his early career, this volume proves he is still creating plenty of great short fiction.
      
PREMIUM

Down and Out in Purgatory: The Collected Stories of Tim Powers

While Powers has won the WFA twice (for Last Call and Declare), many sf/fantasy fans might not be familiar with his books. For those readers, this collection should serve as a solid introduction to his style.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.