Megan M. McArdle

653 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Every Sky a Grave

Fans of Frank Herbert’s Dune and Yoon Ha Lee’s Ninefox Gambit should enjoy this series opener that has plenty of action and skillful worldbuilding that doesn’t lean on heavy exposition.

PREMIUM

The Companions

While the worldbuilding might not be robust enough for some sf fans, the strength of this first novel is in the writing and nuanced characters. Through the experiences of people who might no longer be considered fully human, the author thoughtfully explores the nature of humanity.
PREMIUM

Dahlia Black

The documentary approach causes some emotional distance, and the sheer amount of footnotes slows reader engagement, but there is plenty of narrative tension to keep the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants or Max Brooks’s World War Z.
PREMIUM

Creation Machine

Bannister cleverly brings it all home in this engaging, propulsive space opera debut that veers lightly into cyberpunk, as a simulated intelligence becomes key to the power struggles for the artifact. Fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Famous Men Who Never Lived

The plight of refugees gets a sf twist in this enjoyable debut from award-winning short story writer Chess. While the side plots could have been tightened, those looking for character-driven, science-light sf should give this a try.
PREMIUM

The Gone World

Describing much more than this simple setup would rob the reader of the trippy experience of navigating the time-travel intricacies of this nail-biting speculative thriller from Sweterlitsch (Tomorrow and Tomorrow). [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]
PREMIUM

Olympus Bound

The exciting conclusion to Brodsky's trilogy, which began with The Immortals, has all the lovingly researched details about the Greek pantheon that fans have come to expect. [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]

Debuter Maaren Joins Cogman, Hunter, Okorafor, Yolen, & Many More | Sf/Fantasy Reviews

PREMIUM

The Lost Plot

A light, fun series for fans of Gail Carriger and Jodi Taylor.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month