McDermid, Val

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

How the Dead Speak

The 11th in McDermid’s series (Insidious Intent) is chock-full of crime and yet not as compelling as past installments. Regardless, fans and newcomers to the series will enjoy the twists and turns.
PREMIUM

Broken Ground

Prolific author McDermid (Out of Bounds) has crafted a tight police procedural with a strong female lead. While this is number five in the series, newcomers are brought up to speed. Fans of Tana French and Ian Rankin will be delighted. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/18.]
PREMIUM

Insidious Intent

McDermid's fully developed characters, superior plotting, and excellent writing result in a police procedural that will please all mystery and thriller fans.
PREMIUM

Out of Bounds: A Karen Pirie Novel

McDermid delivers a fun and exciting police procedural for fans of Stephen Booth and Anne Perry in this fourth series installment (after The Skeleton Road). [See Prepub Alert, 6/13/16; library marketing]
PREMIUM

Splinter the Silence: A Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Novel

Employing a multiperspective narrative, McDermid (Cross and Burn) brings back the beloved Tony Hill and Carol Jordan for this ninth installment of the police procedural series. Readers familiar with the books will rejoice at the prospect of a new page-turning offering, while newcomers who enjoy Sara Paretsky and Laurie R. King will catch up quickly with the backstory.
PREMIUM

Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA and More Tell Us About Crime

This title will primarily be relevant to readers with a general interest in forensic science/criminalistics, casual academics, true crime aficionados, and fans of McDermid's other works.
PREMIUM

Northanger Abbey

Recommended for Austen fans who enjoy vampire-centric YA. ["The marriage-mindedness of the teenage characters is harder to believe, and the black-and-white characterization of some heroes and villains is overdone. Still, McDermid's descriptions of scenery and settings are excellent, and overall this Austen experiment is a success," read the review of the Grove hc, LJ 4/1/14.]
PREMIUM

The Skeleton Road

The backdrop of the Balkan Wars result in some unexpected plot twists but also leads to a loftier examination of the morality of vengeance. However, Pirie's humor and tenacity balance the larger issues, introducing a crime novel that is both enjoyable and irresistible. [See Prepub Alert, 4/21/14.]
PREMIUM

Northanger Abbey

Fans of McDermid and those who are curious to see what she does with Austen's lesser-known novel will enjoy this book. [See Prepub Alert, 12/1/13.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month