Jennifer Mills

39 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Looking Glass

Fans of the previous books will adore seeing the characters again and having loose ends tied up. Readers new to the series, however, will be as lost as Alice.
PREMIUM

The Second Chance Boutique

Fran and Rafe are the unfortunate couple who equate fights that begin over absolutely nothing with passion in their relationship, which could be off-putting for readers. Still, those who fantasize about that perfect wedding dress and wouldn’t miss an episode of Say Yes to the Dress will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Grace Kelly Dress

Janowitz’s (The Dinner Party) fun, frothy tale of women falling in love and dealing with family and tradition is tied up in the symbolism of an heirloom wedding dress that each bride tries to make her own. That iconic dress is a starring character as each woman finds her happiness. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]

Remembrance

This book deserves to be a breakout hit. Woods’s magical realist take on the black female experience will have huge appeal to readers of Marlon James and Tara Conklin.

The Dearly Beloved

This story will be beloved by book clubs and fans of literary fiction. The characters are finely drawn and written with compassion and care, and every word is precisely chosen

The Monster of Elendhaven

Elendhaven is as fully formed as Mervyn Peake’s “Gormenghast” series with truly repellent characters who don’t possess a shred of moral fiber. Yet the right readers will still love them, as newcomer Giesbrecht is a fantasy writer to watch with a sure command of her world.
PREMIUM

Green Valley

Readers will appreciate the questions raised, but this is not for the squeamish. Green Valley is not a pretty place.

The Flatshare

This charming debut features lovely characters being nice to one another. It's easy to root for them to get together and solve the problems in each of their lives. Be prepared to hand-sell this one. It's a sweet romance that will win over readers once they discover it on the shelves.

The Very Best of Caitlin R. Kiernan

Bodies, relationships, and the world are all changeable, shifting, and unstable in this collection by a master of dark fiction. Though influenced by Lovecraftian mythos, the work stands on its own and will be essential for Kiernan devotees.

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.