Jennifer Mills

47 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

I Thought You Said This Would Work

Over the course of the book, readers will discover what caused the rift between Holly and Samantha. However, the most engaging part of the story is how the characters dig themselves out of their ruts in order to give themselves a chance to look toward the future.
PREMIUM

Blood Indigo

Sullivan drops you right into the action in this book. Readers might be confused by the large cast of characters and lack of clear motivations. Unfortunately, the action is always seen from the vantage point of the shamans or Tokela, meaning that technology isn’t clearly explained. Science fiction readers will be disappointed.
PREMIUM

The Little French Bridal Shop

Dupee’s debut novel doesn’t have a happy-ever-after ending. It’s crisply written, but readers may find the characters a little opaque; the reasons behind their actions aren’t always clear. Still the book is strung through with the hope that life’s hard times don’t last forever. Readers will enjoy seeing Larisa and Jack find that hope.

The Witch’s Heart

Angrboda’s love for her children shines passionately through this tale. A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller’s Circe and the Marvel version of Loki.

Miss Benson’s Beetle

Joyce (The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry) has written a delightful book filled with for whom characters readers will root. Margery finds herself again, after being buried by family and work troubles; Enid finds a friend and completes her own dream while in the wilderness of New Caledonia. Sure to be a hit with book clubs.
PREMIUM

Millicent Glenn’s Last Wish

This touching story of the love and forgiveness between mothers and daughters will win fans. Readers will be appalled by how the medical establishment in the past treated women patients and their infants.
PREMIUM

The Madwoman of Preacher’s Cove

As long as readers don’t expect any plausibility to the story line, this overwrought Southern gothic from Davis (Countenance) is actually an enjoyable read. The characters, particularly Hap and Lucy, are fun.
PREMIUM

The Road Not Taken

With its mishmash of Freudian theory, Egyptian mythology, self-assured characters, and meandering plot, this book is mostly for fans of New Age fiction.

PREMIUM

Looking Glass

Fans of the previous books will adore seeing the characters again and having loose ends tied up. Readers new to the series, however, will be as lost as Alice.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?