Jennifer Mills

37 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Grace Kelly Dress

Janowitz’s (The Dinner Party) fun, frothy tale of women falling in love and dealing with family and tradition is tied up in the symbolism of an heirloom wedding dress that each bride tries to make her own. That iconic dress is a starring character as each woman finds her happiness. [See Prepub Alert, 9/16/19.]

Remembrance

This book deserves to be a breakout hit. Woods’s magical realist take on the black female experience will have huge appeal to readers of Marlon James and Tara Conklin.

The Dearly Beloved

This story will be beloved by book clubs and fans of literary fiction. The characters are finely drawn and written with compassion and care, and every word is precisely chosen

The Monster of Elendhaven

Elendhaven is as fully formed as Mervyn Peake’s “Gormenghast” series with truly repellent characters who don’t possess a shred of moral fiber. Yet the right readers will still love them, as newcomer Giesbrecht is a fantasy writer to watch with a sure command of her world.
PREMIUM

Green Valley

Readers will appreciate the questions raised, but this is not for the squeamish. Green Valley is not a pretty place.

The Flatshare

This charming debut features lovely characters being nice to one another. It's easy to root for them to get together and solve the problems in each of their lives. Be prepared to hand-sell this one. It's a sweet romance that will win over readers once they discover it on the shelves.

The Very Best of Caitlin R. Kiernan

Bodies, relationships, and the world are all changeable, shifting, and unstable in this collection by a master of dark fiction. Though influenced by Lovecraftian mythos, the work stands on its own and will be essential for Kiernan devotees.
PREMIUM

Elevation

With no pun intended, Elevation is a slight work with a warm and optimistic heart at its center but not much in the way of plot. King's Constant Readers will enjoy the references to his earlier works and the familiar setting of Castle Rock, but this isn't essential King. Still, libraries should buy to fill demand. [Prepub Alert, 4/9/18.]—Jennifer Mills, Shorewood-Troy Lib., IL
PREMIUM

We Were Mothers

In her first novel for adults (after YA titles The Academy, The Pretty App, and The Boyfriend App), Sise displays a sly sense of pacing; nearly every chapter unveils a new plot twist, keeping readers hooked. Fans of Liane Moriarty will eat this title up with a spoon.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month