Ho, Lauren

232 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Grasses, Sedges, Rushes: An Identification Guide

The question is not whether or not selectors should purchase (they should); it’s where to shelve it (reference or circulating?). Probably the latter
PREMIUM

Evening

Somber but hopeful, this work reveals truths about family dynamics, which are always messier and more complicated than unquestioned family lore.
PREMIUM

Afterland

Fans of chase novels and postapocalyptic stories will enjoy.

Last Tang Standing

The combination of an appealing lead, a glamorous setting, and relatable, funny portrayals of relationships and workplace politics make this debut one of the must-read escapist pleasures of the summer. Fans of Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will be dazzled.
PREMIUM

How Beautiful We Were

In this persuasive novel, Thula is a powerful if ultimately doomed heroine, and Mbue makes it clear that Goliath will always defeat David in a postcolonial society ruled by greed, corruption, and untrammeled capitalism.
PREMIUM

This Is All I Got: A New Mother’s Search for Home

While Sandler focuses primarily on New York City, her study will resonate widely and is worthwhile reading for all, especially fans of Matthew Desmond’s Evicted.

Book of the Little Axe

A sad, compelling novel about a woman of color who fights against society’s expectation, Francis-Sharma’s novel (after ’Til the Well Runs Dry) is an excellent choice for book groups. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

Loving Well in a Broken World: Discover the Hidden Power of Empathy

A light read, these pages are chock-full of optimism in the midst of difficult times, offering nondenominational, faith-infused guidance. A treat for loyal followers of Casper’s writings.
PREMIUM

Saving History: How White Evangelicals Tour the Nation’s Capital and Redeem a Christian America

Kerby’s analysis of conservative evangelicals throughout American history would stand on its own without the emphasis on Washington, DC, but the capital uniquely concentrates the current dynamics, with the conversations encountered adding nuance to this powerful constituency.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month