Goldstone, Lawrence

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

On Account of Race: The Supreme Court, White Supremacy, and the Ravaging of African American Voting Rights

Goldstone is a first-rate writer, and this book’s readability makes it ideal for classroom use, though all readers will learn from the cases covered here.

PREMIUM

Deadly Cure

Goldstone follows his acclaimed debut historical mystery, The Anatomy of Deception, with another vibrant and distinctive forensic page-turner. For fans of Caleb Carr and E.S. Thompson.
PREMIUM

Going Deep: John Philip Holland and the Invention of the Attack Submarine

An enjoyable book for readers interested in innovations during the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era, along with military or American history.
PREMIUM

Drive! Henry Ford, George Selden, and the Race To Invent the Auto Age

A splendid dissection of the Selden/Ford patent face-off and its place in automotive historiography, this work will be enjoyed by business, legal, transportation, social, and intellectual historians; general readers; and all libraries.
PREMIUM

Birdmen: The Wright Brothers, Glen Curtiss, and the Battle to Control the Skies

This is an absorbing, well-written history rich in fascinating personalities. Recommend to anyone interested in American aeronautics. ["A superbly crafted retelling of a story familiar to aviation buffs, here greatly strengthened by fresh perspectives, rigorous analyses, comprehensible science, and a driving narrative," read the starred review of the Ballantine hc, LJ 1/14.]
PREMIUM

Birdmen: The Wright Brothers, Glenn Curtiss, and the Battle To Control the Skies

A superbly crafted retelling of a story familiar to aviation buffs, here greatly strengthened by fresh perspectives, rigorous analyses, comprehensible science, and a driving narrative. Recommended for aviation scholars and enthusiasts, period historians, and leisure readers in nonfiction.
PREMIUM

Lefty

The quirky and upbeat Hall of Fame pitcher Lefty Gomez was a fan favorite on the 1930–42 Yankees that also featured Lou Gehrig, Joe DiMaggio and Babe Ruth...
PREMIUM

Inherently Unequal

Readers interested in the Reconstruction period and Supreme Court history will want to read this book.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month