Emily Hamstra

29 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Chicken Sisters

Mae and Amanda are spirited characters, and their foibles are told with care and humor. Recommended for Food Network and HGTV watchers, this debut novel is plucky and heartwarming. 

PREMIUM

Pinebox Collins

Though jovial, Pinebox’s leisurely paced yarns are sometimes repetitive and predictable. Still, fans of humorous Westerns should enjoy the wit of Miller’s (A Father Unto Many Sons) memorable protagonist.
PREMIUM

And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges

Each story is vivid, unexpected, and satisfyingly weird. Darkly comic and whip-smart, this collection is recommended for readers of Aimee Bender and Alexandra Kleeman.

Little Voices

Fast paced and psychologically complex, this debut mystery has plenty of twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.
PREMIUM

All the Forgivenesses

This emotional story of deep hardship is told in Bertie’s distinct voice and is recommended for readers who enjoyed Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell and Jane Hamilton’s The Book of Ruth.

PREMIUM

The Undertaker’s Assistant

Effie’s community of freedmen and Creoles in Reconstruction New Orleans is unforgettable. Skenandore’s second novel (after Between Earth and Sky) is recommended for readers who enjoy medical historical fiction reminiscent of Diane McKinney-Whetstone’s Lazaretto, and historical fiction with interpersonal drama.

Cherokee America

Verble, whose novel Maud's Line was a Pulitzer Prize finalist, provides historical context and rich details about the lives and relationships of Cherokees in Indian Territory after the Civil War. Highly recommended for readers of literary historical fiction in the vein of Lalita Tademy's Citizen's Creek and Paulette Jiles's News of the World. [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/18.]
PREMIUM

Joni on Joni: Interviews and Encounters with Joni Mitchell

This fascinating portrait of an artist is highly recommended for Mitchell's fans and readers interested in the creative process.
PREMIUM

Whiskey When We're Dry

Told in Jessilyn's hard-hitting voice, this latest from Larison (Northwest of Normal; Holding Lies) has the resonance of a high lonesome ballad. The characters echo legends of the American West, and the scenes of frontier violence are immediate and vivid. For readers of Amanda Coplin's The Orchardist and Courtney Collin's The Untold.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month