David Keymer

348 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Conquering the Pacific: An Unknown Mariner and the Final Great Voyage of the Age of Discovery

A vivid tale of adventure and discovery that will draw in all history lovers. Reséndez’s skillful writing is fast-paced, inviting, and descriptive, setting this book apart.
PREMIUM

Mary Lou Williams: Music for the Soul

Witkowski does an admirable job covering an extraordinary life. Her book will appeal first to people of faith, but jazz lovers will find it valuable too.
PREMIUM

Twelve Caesars: Images of Power from the Ancient World to the Modern

Based on a series of Beard’s lectures, this lavishly illustrated volume will be accessible and interesting to a wide variety of readers; a must-read for anyone interested in classics or art history

The Ottomans: Khans, Caesars, and Caliphs

There’s no study more masterful than Baer’s on the lengthy rule of the Ottoman Empire, from its founding in the 13th century to its collapse in 1924. Baer is especially skilled at presenting extensive information in an engaging and accessible way.

PREMIUM

The Newspaper Widow

An old-fashioned novel isn’t a bad thing when it’s as well done as this one about people growing, loving, and rectifying past mistakes.

In the Forest of No Joy: The Congo-Océan Railroad and the Tragedy of French Colonialism

Complete with maps and photographs, this outstanding work should satisfy history enthusiasts of all levels. Daughton’s writing is heartfelt throughout.
PREMIUM

Two Old Men and a Baby: Or, How Hendrik and Evert Get Themselves into a Jam

A very funny book that should appeal widely.
PREMIUM

The Verge: Reformation, Renaissance, and Forty Years That Shook the World

This work of popular history will appeal to readers of Stephen Greenblatt’s The Swerve or William H. McNeill’s earlier The Rise of the West.
PREMIUM

Widespread Panic

There’s energy in this book, as in all of Ellroy’s fiction, but here it wears the reader down as much as it excites.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?