Christine Barth

26 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Coyote Fork

Wilson has a gift for crafting immersive settings, but a slow build with a nebulous resolution leaves this thriller just shy of thrilling.
PREMIUM

The Black Midnight

Y’Barbo (The Pirate Bride) deftly weaves modern theories into the latest installment of this Christian “True Colors” crime series. Alice is a bright, refreshing character, and fans of enterprising female detectives, such as Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs and Elizabeth Peters’s Amelia Peabody, will appreciate the period details and clean romance.

The Sowing Season

Packed with poignancy and meaning, Powner’s debut novel delivers life lessons that cross generations and will linger long after the last page is turned. If Powner has more stories like this, she will be the next big star in Christian fiction.
PREMIUM

The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus

The intricate setup Wright (The House on Foster Hill) delivers requires patience and suspension of disbelief, but the ending is worth it. Fans of complex Christian fiction in the vein of Kristy Cambron and Michèle Phoenix will enjoy this title.

PREMIUM

Under Scottish Stars

Laureano (The Saturday Night Supper Club) pens a worthy crossover title concluding this modern romantic trilogy that could also stand alone as a winsome story of community and second chances. Fans of light, contemporary, Christian romance along the lines of Jenny Colgan or Bethany Turner will want to add Laureano to their lists.

PREMIUM

These Nameless Things

Those who enjoy Jolina Petersheim, Carrie Stuart Parks, and Tosca Lee and who appreciate mind- and genre-bending fiction will want to add this to a reading list. However, readers who are not familiar with Dante’s Inferno will miss a lot of symbolism and be confused by the plot, especially the ending. Recommended for those looking to try something completely different.

Fragments of Light

A thoughtful and powerful book about how trauma impacts multiple generations and how forgiveness can set anyone on the path to healing.
PREMIUM

Where the Road Bends

Rawlings (The Baggage Handler) uses magical realism to take his characters on a journey into the twisted wilderness of their own pasts. Fans of Mitch Albom, Richard Paul Evans, and Angela Hunt will enjoy this morality tale of four people whose steps have wandered but who may still be able to find their way.

If I Were You

Austin transports readers into the lives of her characters, plunking them in the middle of a brutal war and giving them a unique take on the traditional World War II tale. Readers won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough to find out how Eve and Audrey met and what could have gone so terribly wrong.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month