Christine Barth

39 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Chasing Shadows

Austin (If I Were You) delivers another stunning historical saga about ordinary people who face impossible odds, yet trust an extraordinary God. The compelling characters and moral dilemmas are a highlight; it’s similar to recent Christian fiction hits about WWII, including Sarah Sundin’s When Twilight Breaks and Cathy Gohlke’s The Medallion.

A Distant Shore

It’s good to see Kingsbury stretching her literary muscles to address trafficking from a Christian perspective. Her loyal readers will appreciate that she takes care to write honestly without graphic imagery. For fans of Charles Martin’s The Water Keeper.

The Nature of Small Birds: A Novel

Finkbeiner (The Stories That Bind Us) has deftly written this narrative of ordinary people finding their way, set against a backdrop of global upheaval and war; the characters are realistic and vibrant. Readers looking for realist family stories with a subtle thread of faith, like Erin Bartels’s All That We Carried or Katie Ganshert’s No One Ever Asked, will want to read Finkbeiner’s latest.
PREMIUM

The Weight of Memory

Smucker (These Nameless Things) crafts beautiful sentences and haunting characters that immerse readers in a world where anything is possible but not everything is real. Recommended for fans of Ted Dekker or Tosca Lee.

When Stars Rain Down

Jackson-Brown (House Repairs) paints a vivid picture of family and community persevering in the pressure cooker of the Deep South. Readers will be drawn to Opal’s intelligent and authentic voice, as the books confronts issues of racism, injustice, and white privilege head-on. This is a powerful Own Voices contribution to the historical fiction genre, joining titles such as Alka Joshi’s The Henna Artist and Kim Michele Richardson’s The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek in their unflinching look at the past.
PREMIUM

A Piece of the Moon

Every title by Fabry (Borders of the Heart) draws readers into the story with clear, honest writing in a similar style to Charles Martin and Lynn Austin. The rural South comes to life, with themes of forgiveness and second chances as highlights. The characters are both deeply flawed and immensely relatable, making this another hit for Fabry.
PREMIUM

The Incredible Winston Browne

Dietrich (Stars of Alabama) imbues plenty of Southern charm and colloquialisms in a read that will appeal to people of all genders, and especially to fans of small-town living. Readers who enjoy well-developed, realistic characters similar to those from Charles Martin and Lauren K. Denton will want to watch for more from this author.
PREMIUM

The Curator’s Daughter

Ember’s story interwoven with Hanna’s is a search for identity unshackled from past mistakes and redeemed by love. Fans of Kristy Cambron and Rachel Hauck will devour this split-time tale with two equally strong story lines. Increased anti-Semitism in her own community of Portland, OR, inspired Dobson (Memories of Glass) to mine the past for lessons in reconciliation, forgiveness, and lasting change
PREMIUM

A Dance in Donegal

God’s redemptive love is the highlight of this debut work, although the Gaelic names and colloquialisms can be hard to follow for North American readers. Fans of historical Christian romances in the vein of Kristi Ann Hunter and Jen Turano will want to keep an eye on Deibel.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?