Brody, Frances

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Death at the Seaside

With a writing style and plotting reminiscent of golden age crime fiction, this is a good read-alike for fans of Jacqueline Winspear's "Maisie Dobbs'' mysteries, Charles Todd's "Bess Crawford" series, and Catriona McPherson's "Dandy Gilver" books.
PREMIUM

A Death in the Dales: A Kate Shackleton Mystery

The mysteries themselves may not be complex, but given the fascinating cast of supporting characters, a pleasant Yorkshire setting, and an endearing heroine, this is a solid British traditional mystery that should please series regulars and newcomers alike.
PREMIUM

A Woman Unknown: A Kate Shackleton Mystery

Brody's spirited and stalwart protagonist has found her true calling in solving mysteries, and her fourth case (after Murder in the Afternoon) holds true. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie will enjoy these historical mysteries set in 1920s England as entertaining read-alikes.
PREMIUM

Murder in the Afternoon: A Kate Shackleton Mystery

This meaty historical set in post-World War I England succeeds as a satisfying traditional mystery and as a fascinating historical novel tackling women's roles in the early 1920s. Brody's series, now at three (after A Medal for Murder), merits serious attention. While leisurely paced, it never lags, instead inviting quiet time on the couch with a cuppa. Partners well with Jacqueline Winspear and Kerry Greenwood.
PREMIUM

A Medal for Murder: A Kate Shackleton Mystery

This lusciously written historical cozy is an excellent addition to the crowded 1920s market, and Brody's second series entry (after Dying in the Wool) positions her for deserved attention. Her gentle and traditional structure (noteworthy use of flashbacks) pairs nicely with Kerry Greenwood (see review above) and Jacqueline Winspear titles. Brody has also written historical novels as Frances McNeil.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.