Bolton, Sharon

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Split

Readers will tear through Bolton’s (The Craftsman) latest to find out how the disparate threads connect. While the plot resolves tidily, some readers may be unsettled by the fact that Felicity and Joe are romantically involved after she is his patient. [See Prepub Alert, 9/30/19.]
PREMIUM

The Craftsman

Recommend to fans of the author's previous work or other British female sleuths. Readers who were delighted by the big twist at the end of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes will similarly enjoy the final few pages here. [See Prepub Alert, 4/23/18.]
PREMIUM

Dead Woman Walking

This will be the book of the fall for Bolton's fans and anyone who treasures the experience of staying up late reading just to find out what happens next. [See Prepub Alert, 3/23/17.]
PREMIUM

Daisy in Chains

The literary styling of this latest work from Bolton (Little Black Lies; "Lacey Flint" series) makes this a quick read, but the multiple plot threads will occupy readers' minds for days after they finish. Fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter will savor this twisty crime novel that invites many rereadings. [See Prepub Alert, 3/14/16.]
PREMIUM

Little Black Lies

In her new stand-alone (after Sacrifice) Bolton, author of the Lacey Flint mystery series (A Dark and Twisted Tide), continues to delve into the dark side of complex, sympathetic characters, each of whom offer their perspective on the same events. Although the lyrical descriptions of a distant and strange place are striking, it's the skillfully developed suspense and the portrait of parents' terror when a child goes missing that grips throughout this tale. [See Prepub Alert, 11/24/14.]
PREMIUM

A Dark and Twisted Tide

Bolton, also well known as S.J. Bolton, has written several stand-alones as well as three earlier Lacey Flint mysteries. She delights in a kind of gothic horror, weaving suspenseful tales featuring complex, often tormented characters. Readers can expect many details about Afghan immigrants, the Thames, and esoteric medical conditions, but the focus remains on Lacey. Just as readers think they know the killer's identity, there is another shocking twist in this sometimes melodramatic but always gripping tale by a master of the genre. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14; "Editors' Spring Picks," LJ 2/15/14; library marketing.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month