Bishop, Anne

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Queen’s Bargain

Bishop’s many fans will welcome this latest installment, but new readers should start with the first book of this high fantasy series to be fully immersed in the multilayered world- and character-building.
PREMIUM

Wild Country

Bishop's sequel to Lake Silence presents captivating characters and rich detail, resulting in a satisfying urban fantasy.
PREMIUM

Lake Silence

Bishop's fans will be happy to return to the universe of the Others, with a new cast of characters and a fantastical suspense plot. [See Prepub Alert, 10/9/17.]
PREMIUM

Etched in Bone

While the human vs. Others conflict was mostly resolved in Marked in Flesh, the long-unresolved romantic tension between Simon and Meg remained. Fans will be pleased Bishop finally has the pair addressing their feelings.
PREMIUM

Marked in Flesh

In Bishop's fourth dark fantasy adventure (after Vision in Silver), the stakes have grown higher. There are plenty of parallels to draw between current events and Bishop's alternate world, but it is the stories of the characters woven through the action that keep the books fresh. Vivid worldbuilding and myth creation are Bishop's strengths, and this title is a welcome addition to the series.
PREMIUM

Vision in Silver

This is a strong example of a midseries-building book, showing the heightening of stress without a major change in the status quo. Bishop (Murder of Crows; Daughter of the Blood) marvelously invents a rich world that is a faint echo of our own but ruled by wild inhuman creatures tied to nature and pushed to violence by the greed of humans who refuse to understand that they are not in charge. The delicate character of Meg is a fulcrum, a special human whom the Others protect, and her damaged but determined will is the key to this terrific series.
PREMIUM

Murder of Crows

Perfect for those who enjoy urban fantasy or modern fantasy with less graphic material. ["Bishop excels at creating irresistible dark worlds…. Her alternate America in which the natural world belongs to the Others and humans are interlopers is fascinating," read the review of the Roc: NAL hc, LJ 2/15/14.]
PREMIUM

Murder of Crows: A Novel of the Others

Bishop excels at creating irresistible dark worlds, but this series avoids some of the baroque excesses of her popular "Black Jewels" universe while still having that startling otherness and a touch of sensuality. Her alternate America in which the natural world belongs to the Others and humans are interlopers is fascinating.
PREMIUM

Written in Red

Recommended for fantasy lovers. ["[Bishop] continues to craft well-plotted fantasy that is filled with sensuality and detail and populated with characters who compel the reader's attention. This urban fantasy should appeal to fans of Tanith Lee, Tanya Huff, and Storm Constantine," read the review of the ROC hc, LJ 1/13.—Ed.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month