Ann Chambers Theis

79 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Beau Death: A Peter Diamond Investigation

One of the best entries in a long-running series, this exceptional police procedural is packed with imperfect and engaging characters, sophisticated plotting, and abundantly detailed historical tidbits. A surefire recommendation for fans of Christopher Fowler's "Bryant and May" series, which is quirkier but has many of the same appeal factors, and J.M. Gregson's crime novels.
PREMIUM

Fools' River: A Poke Rafferty Thriller

In his eighth Bangkok-set adventure (after The Hot Countries), Poke Rafferty has 48 hours to rescue Buddy, the father of one of his daughter Miaow's friends, who has been kidnapped by a pair of killers who prey on the city's "sexpats...
PREMIUM

Dead Man's Blues

In this engrossing follow-up to the award-winning The Axeman, a crime scene photographer, a gangster with a dark secret, and two Pinkerton detectives are bound together by a series of crimes that play out in 1928 Chicago...
PREMIUM

The Devil's Song

A solid bet for fans of dark crime dramas.
PREMIUM

My Brother's Keeper

This absorbing read by New Zealand author Malane (Surrender) mixes the investigative methodology of PI fiction with the fast pace of a thriller.
PREMIUM

The Woman in the Camphor Trunk: An Anna Blanc Mystery

Anna is occasionally exasperating, but she is also strong and determined and has an intriguing voice. Historical fiction fans who loved The Secret Life of Anna Blanc will enjoy her second investigative adventure.
PREMIUM

Deadbomb Bingo Ray

The author of the "Darby Holland" crime novels (Lucky Supreme; A Long Crazy Burn) launches a fast-paced, quick-witted neonoir caper series packed with cons and double crosses, larger-than-life characters, and vivid language. Bound to attract fans of Norman Green, Roger Hobbs, and Max Allan Collins's "Quarry" novels, as well as the gritty works of Stuart MacBride and Pete Dexter.
PREMIUM

Bryant & May: Wild Chamber: A Peculiar Crimes Unit Mystery

For fans of offbeat mysteries, Fowler's long-running series continues to offer some of the best reading; the latest entry features an array of eccentric characters, a killer conclusion in a library setting, quirky humor, witty writing, interesting side trips and expositions, and a well-ordered, intricate plot. [See Prepub Alert, 6/12/17.]
PREMIUM

Let Darkness Bury the Dead: A Murdoch Mystery

Murdoch fans will welcome the long-awaited return of the Canadian sleuth, and historical mystery buffs will relish the evocative details—poetry, excerpts from military manuals—that add poignancy and context to a straightforward mystery plot.

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.